We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing more”

The General Burgoyne
Ranked #18 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an old style Country Pub based in the village of Urswick, nearby to Ulverston, Dalton and Barrow. We offer a friendly atmosphere with a fully stocked bar. For those wanting to dine we offer a pub classics menu with an edge, some items include Cajun Chicken, Steaks, Gammon, Lasagne, Sausage, Burgers, Stir Frys and Homemade Pies. The venue also offers an early bird menu served Wed - Sat between 5pm and 6pm. We are dog friendly in the bar area and welcome families into the establishment. The pub also has BT sport, pool table and dart board as well as several board games and cards available to add to the family experience
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing more”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

After reading reviews on TA we decided to try General Burgoyne on 4th Nov (Friday). I've tried to review this based on Service, Food, Value and Atmosphere

Service:
Staff were prompt in seating us and taking our drinks and food orders. We didn't find the restaurant extremely busy yet it seemed to take a long time for the starters to arrive. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Food:
I'd class this as somewhere between halfway between restaurant and good pub food. For starters we had the whitebait and the rabbit terrine. The whitebait was nice, and there was lots of it, but the salad which accompanied it was basic. The rabbit terrine was very nice.

We both chose to have the trio of game birds for our main course. All three meats were beautiful and were moist, getting a moist pheasant breast can be very difficult. The sauce which accompanied the meat didn't do it justice and I feel that it could be improved to bring out the flavour in the meat more.

For desserts we had the tasting platter and the crumble, both were nice and not too heavy, which was good given the amount of food we'd consumed.

Value:
I'd say the food is reasonably priced, £70 for two people eating three courses with drinks.

Atmosphere:
The place is effectively split into two halves, the traditional pub areas and the restaurant. There's a good contrast betwen the two and the restaurant especially is decorated well with nice finishing touches.

Overall opinion, there are better choices in the area, but I wouldn't rule visiting again, especially given the seasonal menu changes.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    60
    39
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a detour.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good food, seasonal menu that changes regularly, bar food as good as the seasonal menu and decent service.

Famous for peanuts and pint which when all three components are eaten together tastes wonderful but the panna cotta is too salty alone and it's inevitable that you will taste it alone. Clever concept though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sublime!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The General Burgoyne has a beautiful combination of both excellent cuisine and a fantastic country/pub feel. My meal consisted of Oysters for start which was served with bacon, paprika and chives. This particular starter was an excellent choice and let perfectly into my main which was 'A Trio of Game Birds.' The service was discrete and professional, all in all i couldn't fault the whole outing. 10/10, you'd be daft to miss out on a meal of such good quality!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We came here looking for a Sunday roast, and enjoyed it so much we came back a few days later for an evening meal. In both cases the food was very well presented and the flavours didn't let it down. The Sunday roasts were served up very quickly, while the evening meals took a little more time (as noted on the menu though). The "peanuts and a pint" dessert was quite interesting, but a little salty for my taste.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your last meal on Earth..... this is where you'd eat it!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Ok, so I'll see you all there Dec' 22nd 2012 cause if it's the end of the world as we know it this is where I want to be.
I was in the Lakes for a break from London and found this gem nestled away on Church road in Great Urswick. Now, my partner and I like food and we are pretty good in the kitchen so we're hard to please, good combinations, good flavors built around fresh produce is a must and boy did we get it! Not only does this pub have some unusual history (check out the skull in the cupboard) but it has a national cooking treasure tucked away in the kitchen.
Craig and Louise Sherrington made a rainy day feel like a cosy Christmas afternoon.
The pub was cool and cosy, the menu was brilliantly confusing in as much as all the dishes read so fat and juicy on the page you needed to have a three course lunch, stay for a three course dinner and come back the next day just to cover half the dishes you really didn't want to miss out on!!! If you find yourself within a ten mile radius of Ulverston, you owe it to yourself to eat here. We had such an amazing lunch we returned the next day for supper, not only was the food outstanding a second day in a row but the wine list held it's own and everything came to a tuppence and a ha'penny!
Well done Craig and Louise for making our trip to Ulverston one I wish to repeat and soon so I can get back in their restaurant and have those flavors dance in my mouth one more time! There's no service charge so be generous when you leave and show the staff how much you appreciated the excellent service, it's just the done thing.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The General Burgoyne also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to The General Burgoyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing