We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Like stepping back in time but with mod cons!”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pomona
Ranked #12 of 28 Ulverston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Like stepping back in time but with mod cons!””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A beautiful old house dating from 1616, lovingly restored with a real feel of history, the Pomona B & B provided us with a restful setting, comfortable rooms and a level of service to be commended. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindajneill, Owner at Pomona, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We work so hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us and to receive a comment like this makes it all feel worth while and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

went on my own for the weekend as my wife was away with her frieds,arrived to a very warm welcome,made to feel at home straight away. Buitifull room very comfortable bed.Went for a ride came back had a shower and of to the local for my evening meal just5 mins walk away great food.After a great nights sleep didnt actually want to get out of bed, downstairs to my favourite meal of the day and that was absoloutly delicious. I will definatley be going back to here with my wife later on in the year.great place to stay great people running it. Bad pionts.. had to go home and the weather on Saturday but hey thats the lakes... gods back garden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent B&B

We are just back after a great four night stay in this lovely place. Pomona B&B is a gorgeous little cottage near the south end of Coniston Water.

Although we had seen the picture of the room, we were nicely surprised by the detailed Victorian decoration and nice touches. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and we very much enjoyed the company of other guests during breakfast around the common round table. There was a great variety of options for breakfast, including a range of fruits, cereals, yogurts and the delicious full English breakfast.

The owners, Steve and Linda, were superb hosts and helped us make the most of our stay. We admittedly had not planned our days in advance and Steve's suggestions and detailed instructions (and maps!) about walking routes really made our holidays.

Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pomona earlier in the year and had a LOVELY two night stay. When we realised we would be in the area again, we asked if we could have a one night booking for July as my husband is in Germany and we would ahve to get him back to the airport - so 2 nights were out of the question.
The owners were so accomodating, saying yes and not bothering with a deposit as they knew we would stick to our word - so nice to stay with lovely, down to earth and honest people.
The rooms are decorated in authentic Victorian style.
There is not television in the rooms - but we don't need one as we are outdoors all day and sleep when we get in.
We LOVED the bath (rooms each have a shower, but there is a public bath). We used this every night! it is HUGE and there is a ginormous range of bubbly things to put in it... so our favourite thing was brewing up after a long day, taking our cuppas to the bathroom, and luxuriating in delicious bubbles together while chatting about the day's events. Luxury.
The B&B is exceptionally clean (gee, it myst be hard keeping on top of the Victorian style). Breakfast is generous and delicious. The dog is LOVELY:) The room we occupied had no view, but we had spent all day cycling and running IN the view, so this did not bother us. Really easy, short walk to pubs where delicious meal (best mixed grill EVER) was had.
We look forward to going back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dofchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindajneill, Owner at Pomona, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
We greatly appreciate positive comments like this. However, as owners there are a couple of points which could be construed as negative, i.e., the bedrooms are decorated in period style and a television would not be in keeping, there is however a television in the guest lounge.
Also, the view from the bedroom is only temporarily obstructed by scaffolding whilst a nearby barn is being re-roofed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

The Pomona is a great B&B. The owners Steve & Linda are excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The local pub, Farmers Arms, serves good meals & is a very short stroll away. The B&B has only three rooms, two with en-suite, so it feels like you are staying in a friend's home. On each of our returns back to the Pomona from the pub, a roaring log fire greeted us. The 'full English' breakfast is truly scrumptious, including thick bacon rashers & 'proper' sausages. There are locally sourced jams to add to the copious amounts of toast. Pots of these jams are also for sale. Anyone cannot fail but have a very enjoyable time there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinHaydock_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
5.4 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#10 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crosslands Farm
Crosslands Farm
#5 of 28 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#16 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomona

Property: Pomona
Address: Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomona 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pomona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing