We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Kings Head(Broughton-in-Furness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lakeside Hotel(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
116
42
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
42
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbottled waterlittle gemlake districtcumberland sausagelovely home cooked foodwould recommend this to anyonereceived a very warm welcomebeer gardenexcellent beertidy roomwarm friendly atmospherefamily mealfull english breakfastpacked lunchconiston waternothing too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 162 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

i spent 3 nights here over the bank holiday. what a warm and welcoming place the red lion is! my room was homey, comfortable and spotless. the food is great traditional pub fare and breakfast was super. the people that work here and come here for a drink couldn't be any friendlier. i had such a great time while staying here. i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Steve was very welcoming and cheerful. The bar had a lovely warm log fire and old oak beams but otherwise the decor was a bit tired in the bar and lounge. Excellent free wifi. The bedroom was small but well heated and nicely furnished. The ensuite shower room was great with a powerful easily controlled shower. Dinner was tasty but nothing adventurous. The breakfast was truly gargantuan and would suit anyone planning to walk thirty miles or more! Porridge was a particular highlight: a generous bowl served with lashings of cream.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from our stay at The Red Lion I have to stay the welcome was wonderful and Steve made us feel comfortable from when we first walked through the door, The room was lovely and very warm. The meal was Fantastic and most reasonably priced. I would recommend this to anyone .The breakfast wonderful and the lady very friendly .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Me and my husband have just spent 2 days at the red Lion. The nowner and staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming as our the locals. They had a very relaxed attitude about our dog with no restrictions and only a small charge. The food was what I would refer to as traditional pub food, all very well cookjed and decent portions. The rooms were spacious and had all the facities you would expect to have in a B&B.
It as also a good location for walking. I would recomentd if for those who want a base for walking or just wish a quiet get away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blistergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading the reviews of this pub i decided to book 2 nights for me and my partner. All of the reviews are good for this pub and i see why, Steve the landlord is a really laid back guy and very friendly, as are the other 2 staff here, always make time to have a chat with you, unlike the staff at other pubs i've stayed in while in the lakes! Also the locals are great, they like to have a good chat with guests too, they are really nice genuine people.
One of the locals had left the pub with her husband, then a while later she came back in alone saying she'd lost her husband, but decided to drink a little more while she was there, she had the whole pub in stitches laughing because she was so drunk lol! really good night!
The food is lovely, i had two different meals while here and both were very nice and they filled me nicely (i can eat for england, so this proves the portions are good!) the ales are very good too as people have mentioned, and the prices are very good too, also the breakfast is very filling and top quality, you can have cereal too, juice, tea & coffee.
The rooms are fine, they're warm, very clean and comfortable, someone on here said they need updating, but i certainly didn't find this to be bad at all, as i said the rooms are fine and very well cleaned :)
The pub is in a nice location, just a few miles from coniston where there are shops, pubs, cafes, boat hire etc, and if you need cash go in the post office where you can draw cash for free.
The views from the pub are stunning! Inside the pub are low ceilings and beams, a very nice cosy pub. Steve deserves some praise as he's up very early to cook for everybody and make them drinks, he also stays a while when everybody has gone to bed or left, he works very hard and does a very good job!
Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, the locals are brilliant, the pub is very nice, good location, good rooms, good food, good beer, good prices and all delivered with a smile! Cannot praise this pub enough, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this pub to everyone of any age! We'll definately be staying again as you really do feel welcome here!
Thanks to everyone at the red lion for a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkslad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews