We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ulverston
Post
Inbox
Search

“Really good, restaurant quality pub food”

The Mill at Ulverston
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Converted 17th Century town mill with the original waterwheel still intact in centre of pub. The venue has a beautiful cask ale bar (CAMRA's Good Beer Guide 2011-19) with eight hand pulls serving a variety of Cumbrian, Lancastrian and national ales. We are also recommended in the 2019 Good Pub Guide. Upstairs is a lovely restaurant with chandeliers and beautiful, original mill artefacts. On the first floor, to the rear of the venue, is a large outside terrace area with seating for over 60 and Ulverston's Mill Race stream running through one side. We describe our food as "casual fine dining". With some really exquisite & complex starters and main courses available alongside more relaxed dining choices such as burgers and steaks. All our food is carefully prepared in-house by an experienced and talented brigade of chefs using mainly local South Cumbrian suppliers. Open 11-11 every day (later at the weekends), with food available every lunch and evening, seven days a week.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best of the pubs for food in Ulverston by a long way. Fair prices, unique menu and excellent service.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellysb2019, Agency / Consultant at The Mill at Ulverston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rachel, thank you for leaving such a brilliant review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Mill at Ulverston, and we hope you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for dinner on a Friday evening. Food was good, generous portions and tasty.

Thai fishcake and pork belly were enjoyable starters. Haddock and Mill burger mains were also good choices.

Pricing is ok, drinks menu is extensive and service friendly. Only observation is that it was very quiet for a Friday. Given the size of the restaurant it therefore felt a little lacking in atmosphere. Otherwise fine.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank deanm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellysb2019, Agency / Consultant at The Mill at Ulverston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dean, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at The Mill at Ulverston, and that our staff were on hand to make you feel welcome. We hope you'll visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

We tried this place after looking at its website. We were visiting relations in the town. This is a really nice looking place with comfortable seating and tables.
The breakfast was good apart from my eggs on sourdough bread weren't up to scratch
( egg yolks were hard and sourdough was burnt ) however these were change very quickly with apologies. The staff were really freindly and I will certainly return .

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 186380KennethB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellys B, Guest Relations at The Mill at Ulverston, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Hi 186380KennethB11, thank you for taking the time to leave a review - although unfortunately I'm afraid there's been some confusion, as we don't serve brunch at The Mill!

We do hope you'll visit us in the near future and give our menu a try. All the very best - The Mill at Ulverston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Had a lovely meal this evening. Beautiful smoked haddock then Christmas pudding (last time 2019) We were waited on by Laura C. Lovely young lady,nothing any trouble.
Certainly go again.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Xxxyygrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellys B, Guest Relations at The Mill at Ulverston, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Hi Xxxyygrt, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Mill at Ulverston. Thank you for the brilliant review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Christmas dinner in a ciabatta was amazing- lots of turkey and a jug of gravy! Fish in batter was tasty and crispy and onion rings with burger were crunchy. The menu is completely different from usual pub menus- wish we could have tried more! Dogs welcome but only at the front- but near the fire so very happy. Young staff and very friendly. Great to see the original old mill in the centre of the pub with water gushing by it!!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank karenm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellys B, Guest Relations at The Mill at Ulverston, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Hi Karen, thank you for the great review and for choosing to stop by The Mill at Ulverston. We're delighted that you enjoyed our venue, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill at Ulverston also viewed

Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 

Been to The Mill at Ulverston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing