We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“often closed but very nice if you can get in”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Eden Lodge Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Unpretentious and comfortable, sinking into a cosy chair in the lounge you will start to enjoy what we hope will be an unforgettable experience. Combining contemporary elegance with intimate ambiance, here at Eden Lodge we have retained the elegance of the exterior and created a very special hotel and restaurant.Our menu reflects this, by taking classic cuisine and adding new twists, thus creating a sumptuous and exciting dining experience. Our ever changing seasonal menu will always use the freshest of produce sourced locally and be organic where possible. The designer inspired restaurant will cater for your every need whether its a formal business lunch, a family get together or an intimate dinner for two.And to round it off we have an extensive, hand selected list of fine wines, from which our staff will help you select the one to enhance and compliment your dining experience.So please have a look at our sample dinner menu, our sample lunchtime menu, and last but not least a selection of our wine list. We hope that you will share our enthusiasm for wonderfully presented, delicious food accompanied by a glass of fine wine, making eating at Eden Lodge the perfect culinary experience…
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“often closed but very nice if you can get in”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

often closed, not enough staff, but nice breakfast and nice rooms, a bit expensive. very convient to visit the Kadmap Buddhist centre opposite.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaWrigglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not visit here for a meal !!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just been here for a celebratory meal for my daughters 21st , after having been several times before. Never again ! We were promised the earth for this meal , as the menu was not to our standard we changed several items . The starters came the portions were meagre we had garlic mushrooms in fact it was more like a small cup of soup hardly any mushrooms init , the accompanying bread was thick sliced white supermarket stuff . The next course was just as disappointing the vegetables were cold , really exciting baton carrots and broccoli and the promised salad was some limp green stuff !!! We all stayed very quiet till the desserts were brought out , the choc fudge cake was bought choc cake with somekind of fudge under it , in edible , the sticky toffee pudding was cold and the cheese board was frozen !!!! And to finish this complaint the wine was warm ,not even refrigerated . When we complained to management she was extremely rude to all our party which included an 8 yr old girl , we were then asked to leave no explanation given , the lady even admitted that the puddings were shop bought .
My daughter left very upset , this place is one to be avoided .

Helpful?
2 Thank CumbriaCazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, Owner at Eden Lodge Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that this birthday party went wrong. It is true that the restaurant has closed to non-residents since the beginning of this year, however, this should not have happened, and is difficult to explain as feedback from residents has been very positive, although, admittedly, residents are offered a different menu. This said, the manager did recognise that mistakes were made and no money was charged for several bottles of wine, not to mention the food. The statement that "no explanation" was given to our guests when asked to leave, may not be totally accurate as my understanding is that the disappointment over the meal resulted in some anger by one member of the party, which may not have been expressed in the best way. However, measures are currently being taken that such an experience for both parties is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Staff Party good food,friendly service”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having been here a couple of times for less happy occasions-I thought it was about time we went with something to smile about rather than frown!
The place is small country house very near to the Priory on the outskirts of Ulverston.
The only down side was considering it was festive time the restaurant was not busy.The one advantage of this is that we had Dawn(the manager and chef) and Mathew's undivivded attention.
We had a leisurly drink in the bar,before being ushered to our table in the beautiful conservatory.
The bread was crucnchy and warm a lways a good start.2 of us started with the winter vegetable soup while the others opted for the lighter melon.
For the mains,it was Turkey,excellent salmon and pefectly cooked steak.The vegetables were crunchy and plentiful.
For dessert a rich Christmas pudding,a light panna cotta and a couple of cheese boards.
Washed down with water for the driver(me!) and some good dry whiute wine and an excellent Merlot.
Tea,coffee and mince pies were served in the lounge.
It is good value for money-we all enjoyed oursleves.I,obviously could not give more than 3 for atmosphere as it was so quiet.
This has the makings of an excellent restaurant go to try it you will not be disappointed.
Kendal Mint

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KendalMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having just returned from our stay at Eden Lodge Country House,I can highly recommend this accomadation.Our room was inmaculate,bathroom chic and modern.The grounds delightful,veiws stunning,this country house has recently changed mangament and having travelled extensively around the lake district they are certaintly offering a high standard to all amenities and use locally source produce for their breakfast,which was cooked to perfection.Atmosphere relaxed,staff attentive,looking forward to my next visit.

L Wood
Hartlepool

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Appalling”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sunday lunch with friends - what was right with this place. It feels like the retirement home it once was. The food was revolting and the service terrible, The only saving grace was that I received a full refund.

Helpful?
3 Thank KG4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, Owner at Eden Lodge Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Due to the difficult economic conditions and the maybe not easily understandable market positioning of the Eden Restaurant as a "fine dining" experience I decided to close the Eden Restaurant several months ago. This decision was also encouraged by a number of our guests, including visitors of the Eden Lodge Hotel, who advised us that they would probably prefer "gastropub" styled food over fine dining, although many of them confrmed to us that they thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience at Eden but felt it was more reserved for special occasions. Our restaurant now awaits its re-launch in the near future under new management and with a greater gastropub feel to it. With regard to the review I questioned my staff whether any guests had been offered a re-fund for their poor dining experience. This was denied, so I can only assume that the previous manager acted along these lines. Nevertheless, as the owner, it is difficult for me to react to the review, not least as it appears very much out of line with the very positive feedback we had up to the moment of the closure of the restaurant, but also because of the time gap between the posting of the review and the closure of the restaurant. However, the reviewer's motivation for making reference to Eden Lodge as having been a carehome before, is not quite clear to me. Nevertheless, I would be more than happy to invite the reviewer for a cup of coffee and explain to him or her our plans for the future, and put the past behind us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden Lodge Country House Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing