We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of the Breakfast issue”
Review of Sefton House

Sefton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sefton House
Ranked #21 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Be aware of the Breakfast issue”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were impressed with this place at first, whilst we thought £70 for a twin in February was quite a lot we were generally impressed with the place and thought the townstairs cafe was well set out. Whilst it wasn't warm outside we didn't have an issue with bedding as the post in 2009 had reported.
However the breakfast was a disaster, I can't see how the previous posting could in any way be positive about the breakfast. Whilst the tea, juice and cereals were welcome, once the 'cooked' breakfast arrived to our displeasure the sausages were vegetation and evidently as the owners had decided [presumably] that there would be no meet products so no bacon etc. This left us with [from memory] a tomato, mushrooms and a tiny portion of beans.
To say this was disappointing is an understatement, I wish I had gone back to the reviewer in 2009 who reported the same experience. I note that this posting was replied too by the owners, but no defense was made of have no meat content and further more this is not mentioned on the website. I would also add only one round of toast was offered.
I wish I could be more positive, the only reason stopped here is we thought we would pay £70 as at least £10 of this would be for a decent breakfast, sadly not! If we had had more time before having to get away we would have found somewhere else to find a proper breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_bates09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The downstairs room has clearly had lots of love. It is tastefully decorated with mismatched furniture. The downstairs is an art gallery/cafe, so plenty of great pictures to look at while having your breakfast. Couldn't fault the food, plenty on offer and all really fresh. We stayed in room 7 which from prior reviews looks a popular choice. The decor is dated, but still functional and very clean. The bed was firm but comfy. The en-suite small, but adequate for a one night stay. The house is a period property so the room smaller than a modern hotel and there have been some compromises; tea tray on the landing so as not to clutter the room and the wash basin in the bedroom, but neither thing bothered us. We did feel that the room rate was a bit high - £65/night. This is higher than advertised on the website because we only stayed one night.

We would recommend Sefton House and a stay in Ulverston - a quaint market town with lots of independent shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stopped for one night on business visit to Ulverston. Sefton House pleasant suprise,

with downstairs cafe/art gallery.Would stay again.

Ulverston nice little town definately worth a stop..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJohnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

really comfortable house run by a nice well travelled family, Nice comfortable room with everything you need.
The breakfast room is in the lovely cafe area surrounded with art on every wall.
if I had any negative comments it would be that the stars need a bit of TLC hover i am sure this is on the cards.

great vegitarian food

Nice weekend break in the middle of Ulverston

Room Tip: Choos one with an on suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Ecover hand wash at the sink, low energy light bulbs, exclusively veggie breakfast menu (we barely noticed), all drinks fair trade and every effort made to source locally and organically. Was the shower gel tested on animals? I forgot to check but suspect not. We were in room 7, good if you like a firm bed. The shower wasn't great (mixer tap) and don't let your partner use the sink when you are in it. They didn't communicate so we had to get our lunch from the coop (remind them the night before if you want a packed lunch: I think we missed actress). Oodles of character and not too cluttered.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foragerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton mddx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very friendly, comfortable and welcoming guest house. Home from home. Fab veggie breakfast. Perfect location for centre of Ulverston.

Room Tip: We've always stayed in room 7, it's at the back so quiet. Has a double bed and ensuite. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennieing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The owners were very helpful and friendly, the guest house is very laid back and peaceful, but sociable too with the late night cafe. The breakfasts were delicious, and the beds comfortable, so i felt well rested and well fed after my stay. The place has a lovely family atmosphere, and i've stayed there twice already, hopefully will do again next year.

Room Tip: no.6 twin on top floor is nice & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percivalanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
4.5 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kings Arms
#24 of 26 in Ulverston
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#14 of 26 in Ulverston
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton House

Property: Sefton House
Address: 34 Queen Street, Ulverston LA12 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sefton House is a clean, comfortable family run guest house, centrally located in the traditional market town of Ulverston. Our breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally grown, organic and Fairtrade ingredients. The guest house is non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing