We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling Decor.”
Review of British Raj

British Raj
Ranked #38 of 72 Restaurants in Ulverston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Appalling Decor.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The decor is appalling. I've never seen a restaurant so in need of a refurb. The food was pretty good but the neglect shown for the customers' environment make me wonder if the same neglect applies to kitchen hygiene.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PubConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    15
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food is not consistent”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have been going to the British Raj on and off for about a year now. Up until out last two visits, the food had been superb. We haven't been for about 2 months now because on our last two visits, we thought we were in a different restaurant! The food was dreadful. I ordered tandoori chicken tikka and what I got was tiny pieces of dark meat off the leg, mingled with peppers and onions to disguise and the food was just luke warm. I never eat legs, just one of those things, I don't like. The whole point is, you order what you enjoy. In our opinion, we have come to the conclusion that there wasn't a 'Chef' on the premises but rather the staff were doing the cooking to save on costs. The staff know us, so why do this? We have been eating in Indian restaurants for over 30 years so we have a good idea of what to expect. We generally went for the Happy Hour at the British Raj, which, when the food is good, it's exceptional. And at £9.95 for a 4 course meal is excellent. The decor doesn't matter to us. It's the food that counts. The Indian draft largers are very good. The staff are friendly and helpful. Will go again around May when it's more likely to be busier, hence a professional 'Chef' required so the food should be spot on again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe53Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The british raj is brilliant, the staff are extremely kind and really take care of there customers, also the food is brilliantly priced and at a high quality, me and my girlfriend had a dinner for 2 with 2 drinks each costing only £24.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best Indian Restaurant for food i have been too........Decor needs a refurb but hey when the food is this good who cares about the wallpaper!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aitchforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good honest food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The comments of Tylerplus 1, Sskollob,and Tracy C are all correct But come on Guys I do think some kind of Priority needs to be applied here, its very good food at a good price and as As I have eaten Bangladeshi Food since 1973 this is in my opinion A Restaurant that for Food,Service, Value you wont go far wrong.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Raj also viewed

Ulverston, Cumbria
Ulverston, Cumbria
 
Askam in Furness, Cumbria
 

Been to British Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing