We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of British Raj

British Raj
Ranked #43 of 74 Restaurants in Ulverston
Price range: $10 - $19
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Take no notice of the comments about this place bieng tired. I thought it was quite quirky with the different types of funny pattern wall paper and over size light bulbs in the wall shades. It all adds character.
The head waiter was chatty and witty and the young english waiter was very efficient.
The food and the service were excellent. The beer was reasonably priced and ok for a curry house.
We had a leaflet with 30% discount off food & drinks which the staff had no problem honouring.
The restaurant was pretty full on Thursday night which is always a good sign.
I will definately be returning in the near future. Oh, by the way: If the phone happens to ring when the head man is serving your food, you wont see him for dust.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    17
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“could do with a makeover”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

After reading the reviews on here we were expecting something amazing so were q disappointed when we walked into the Raj....wonky,dirty blinds,filthy radiators with food and grime on,dirty peeling wallpaper-however the tables and staff were clean so we decided to stay....glad we did-we went for 'happy hour' and the mixed kebab starter was amazing-the mains were tasty and hot,staff courteous and friendly.
In summary-great food but needs a makeover....badly!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice night out in Ulverston”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Went out to Ulverston on two nights. First night my dad wanted Indian so we went to his favourite place. Food was good, place is a bit tired looking in places but the food made up with good portions, great nan bread and lovely chicken and sauce. Bill was 48 pounds, which was pretty good for two of us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WilkStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

excellent food couldnt be better would benifit from a spruce up but worth a visit for the food

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service but nothing to rave about”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just a bog standard Tandoori. Nothing wrong with it at all. Big portions and the tables aren't too cramped. The menu has all the usual suspects but cooked without any real pizzaz.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Raj also viewed

Ulverston, Lake District
Ulverston, Lake District
 
Ulverston, Lake District
Askam in Furness, Cumbria
 

Been to British Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing