We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Batty !”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

2nd night woken by bat flying round room at 230 am one staff member admitted this had happened before, a "nd one denied it ! not impressed ! v tired next day to go fell walking so sleep not good , breakfast very narrow time frame

Room Tip: not room 3 , and other rooms may well have bats in rafters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracilou187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Apologies for you not having a good nights sleep. We have checked the room again and filled any crevices and holes which were missed after the first incident to prevent any further intrusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked the accommodation based on reviews ie quite location beautiful views etc. The Inn is beautifully situated in a very small village about 30 mins drive from Winder mere. We stayed in room 1 which we found to be of adequate size, beautifully clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable, I found the pillows less so, although I must admit to being a bit picky when it comes to pillows. The only down side to the room was the very loud buzzing from the celler fan located directly below one of the windows. However on mentioning it to the host it was turned off while we were in the room. About 6:30 we ordered a meal in the restaurant and waited waited approx 40 mins before the meal was presented, but noticed a couple who had entered the restaurant and ordered their meal shortly before ours was served, only waited about 10 min !?? On returning to our room , the fan had been turned back on, however the noise was somewhat dimmed by the sound from the television. The fan was turned of or at lest seemed quieter about 10 wish, but was turned off during the night. It's a real pity that in such a lovely place and otherwise first rate accommodation, such a noisy piece of machinery couldn't have been located in a better place when it was installed. I know and accept that this is a working pub and such devices are necessary to the day to day business of the place, but in my opinion the location of such a noisy piece of machinery is the only thing that seriously let's the place down. Yes I would happily stay there again but definitely not in rooms one or two.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tommyskwezebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for your feed back. Agree need to find a new site for the cooling fans as you say we do turn them off every night by 10.30/11.00 unless requested earlier. Regarding the food service times it can depend on what you order as we have certain dishes that are ready to go immediately and others take more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've eaten here many times - mainly at lunchtime - and it's totally reliable on food and service. Evenings can be a little less efficient, but then there are more people there then! The wine list is extensive and the beer changes regularly with plenty of specials on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ferial E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Many thanks for your review. Apologies for the service not being as efficient in the evenings, we do try to predict numbers but do get caught out from time to time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent location, great food, fabulous overall. Will definitely visit again. Great view over farmland and woodland as sat on toilet lol!!
Food was not the cheapest but well worth the money with generous portions. Beer was excellent too!
Landlord Nigel was very friendly, ensuring everything was ok for our visit. Nothing at all to complain about

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks Lisa really pleased you had such a lovely time, hope you had a good journey home!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great pub doing what it says on the tin. Great rooms. Great food. Great atmosphere. Great staff. We were in room 5, yes there is a low beam but if you want characterless rooms go elsewhere. First accommodation on our 5 day touring trip which had a fan in the room which was a great bonus during the recent heatwave. Only downside was it did take ages to run a bath and the shower valve kept closing off and going back to running water into the bath instead. Very busy during the evening on our visit which says it all. However it wasn't noisy with music and by ten pm it was peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonpuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Many thanks your lovely review. We put the shower mixer in recently to solve the washing of hair with a jug scenario and as you say there isnt enough hot water pressure to keep the valve open. Apologies we are trying to find a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a pleasure to find a truly traditional unspoilt pub in Bouth near Ulverston. Lovely to see old white painted walls with unchanged interior. It has a great selection of beers and wines, great food, both snacks/sandwiches or evening meals. Good garden area for those sunny days and inside lovely cosy atmosphere when it's cold outside. There is also a restaurant for more formal eating but we just had lunch time sandwiches and gorgeous chips. Will be going again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Book at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks for your review much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have dined here several times and never been disapointed. The food is very good and a reasonable price. Great selection of real ales. Very friendly staff. The pub can get very busy at weekends so you may need to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TerryAlberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartinn, Owner at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks Terry for your much valued repeated custom !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in Ulverston
155 reviews
5.2 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
85 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
7 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#2 of 8 in Ulverston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: Bouth, Ulverston LA12 8JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: $84 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Ulverston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing