We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay to visit the local zoo”
Review of Hill Foot Hotel

Hill Foot Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill Foot Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ulverston
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over night stay to visit the local zoo”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I were visiting the South Lakes Animal Park and decided to make a night and day of the trip. We chose this hotel due to its rating on TA and agree with both the good and the bad in some of the other reviews.

The staff - amazing, very helpful and friendly
The location - good access to all amenities, a great base for discovering the local attractions and plenty of restaurants / shops near by
The price - it is expensive for what it is, however we did stop during half term and paid £95!
The hotel - it looks in a transitional period at the moment. The bathroom was done up to a very high standard with very swish high tech taps! The decor is tasteful and looks like an ongoing project with some finishes not completed. It was a little chilly but there is central heating for people like me. The TV was tiny, but, we were not there to watch it so it was not an issue for us.
The food - yum!

All in all a very good stay, the cost of the place was eased by the friendliness of the lady on reception, the relaxed attitude to breakfast and checkout times and the great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
17
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is definitely not a 3 star hotel as advertised. It is just an over-priced B&B with limited facilities. There is no phone, radio or tissues in the rooms, and there is a very small TV with limited channels and a plate of tea bags open to the elements. Room lighting left a lot to be desired. However, there was a warm and helpful welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't often write reviews - good or bad. I believe good value for money is a right, and should not be considered an unexpected surprise even in this day and age.

That said, I will make an exception for the Hillfoot Hotel.

We were greeted at the front door by a very polite and charming young woman who took our bags, checked us in with a minimum of fuss, showed us to our room, and returned minutes later with a pot of fresh coffee.

The room itself overlooked the gardens, had a big double bed with fresh white linen, and a spacious bathroom (newly renovated and very clean and shiny).

My husband and I changed and went downstairs to order a taxi into Ulverston town. A different young lady, Helen, wouldn't hear a word of it! She insisted we allow her to drive us. We happily agreed and, on the journey, learned all the best places to eat and drink.

Before dropping us in the square, Helen gave us her personal mobile phone number and told us to call her if we had trouble finding a taxi later in the evening.

We had a lovely Indian meal and decided to walk back to the hotel. When we got there the fire was lit in the guest lounge and we spent a happy hour playing Scrabble before turning in.

As we began to ascend the stairs, Helen came out of the kitchen to tell us that breakfast was served 'whenever we wanted it', and that we could enjoy a lie-in (there was no fixed check-out time, which is a pleasant change).

In the morning we showered (excellent and powerful) and went down for breakfast. There were no menus and we were told to order whatever we wanted. We both ordered full English breakfasts as a rare treat and they arrived promptly.

Real Cumberland sausages, fresh eggs with very yellow yolks, proper bacon (not that watery muck you are so often served), and all the other trimmings. Delicious!

After breakfast we were invited to take our tea, toast and marmalade to the garden where we spent another very pleasant hour (Scrabble again - Me 2 - Hubby 0 ).

My husband and I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world. However, we have never felt so at home as when staying at the Hillfoot Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5. It overlooks the garden and is very well appointed. We didn't see any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed one night. Hotel very tired but staff very friendly! No toiletries in room and no hair dryer. When advised staff on booking out I was told that toiletries were left out on landing (I wish I had been told at time of arrival) and that the hairdryer had probably been stolen. Breakfast was good but having paid nearly £70 I thought it was overpriced for the standard. I would not stay there again and should have listened to the taxi driver who told me that he hadn't taken anyone to that hotel for about eighteen months!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlexHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A wonderful stay at the Hill Foot Hotel over Easter. Really friendly, family run hotel. We were made to feel extremely welcome. Lots of information shared regarding things to do in the area from the owner. Suggested walks mapped out for us - the Hotel is close to start of the Cumbrian Way which is handy. Visited the Manjushri Kadampa (Buddhist temple) just down the road which was stunning. The town centre of Ulverston was near enough to walk to and explore (lovely shops and Market) and far enough away in the evening when it is quite lively! Room comfortable and well furnished with tea/ coffee making facilities TV and wi- fi. Breakfast was really delicious (even made my husband porridge on request) we would definitely recommend and will return again in the summer (if we ever have one!)

Room Tip: Room 4 has lovely view over the Garden and is sunny in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staff are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nice little touches like the bowls in the corridor with toothpaste, soap, coffee etc. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a nice place to stay but I would think, compared to other accommodation available in the area it was a little overpriced. This is because of the very small TV, the room was quite cold as the curtains are over the radiator and the heat can't escape. The shower took a long time to get warm and wasn't powerful at all. Also had a problem getting to door of the room to lock properly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at the Hillfoot Hotel for two week recently. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming - and I am a very demanding guest! So well done Pippa, Helen and Laura! By the way, I almost didn't book due to a few bad reviews on Tripadvisor, but can only assume these characters are out looking for either trouble or a discount. Honestly, some people!! So my advice, if you're looking for a great place to stay, look no further than the marvelous Hillfoot!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.4 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
92 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
330 reviews
2.4 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Foot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Foot Hotel

Property: Hill Foot Hotel
Address: Pennington Lane, Ulverston LA12 7SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill Foot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Foot Ulverston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing