We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and great service”
Review of The Snooty Fox

The Snooty Fox
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Uldale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A small quiet country pub offering B&B, a fine selection of real ales, lagers, ciders, wines. & spirits, home cooked traditional English food with a twist.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great meal and great service”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Book a table for 10 of us. They didn't have enough room so they removed the pool table and setup a table for use there which was great. The service was superb and we all chose different meals and every one was really nice (we tried each others meal :D ). Nice relaxing atmosphere even tho we were on the noisy side as two of the family are extremely deaf.
The conversation at the bar and when they served us was nice and chatty and they remembered our names which is a nice touch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place to eat.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the fabulous Woodlands Country Hotel in nearby Ireby,visited Uldale and had dinner at the Snooty Fox,very warm welcome on arrival,seated at large table to accommodate the six of us and made to feel at home.Great range of cask beers on hand and fine wines,ordered our meal and enjoyed the surroundings.Waited about 20mins for our meals but it was worth it,you cannot rush homemade cookiing.All in all a very enjoyable experience,don,t miss it when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pub with great food and beer, felt like a real treat.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

A really good pub with a great menu. The food is more gastro pub than often found in the area, not cheap but it was good value, well cooked and friendly service. Not sure what it would be like with young kids but there was another bar with families. The pub is very quaint and traditional.

I would definitely go again for a treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“PREBIRTHDAY MEAL”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I WAS TAKEN TO THE SNOOTY FOX WITH MY PARTNER MY MAM ,SISTER BROTHER.IN .LAW AND BROTHER FOR MY UPCOMING 65TH BIRTHDAY because my sister was going back home to wales the meal was great a lovely menu and speciels board if you wished to choose from it and the staFF VERY PLEASENT

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank she61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A great place to stay over”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fantastic old building, great rooms to sleep, great service and nice beers. They are not tide to a company so they can choose the beers they have on selection. The food is slightly expensive but well worth the price the quality of the food and cooking is superbe. If you are looking for a place to escape to the weekend or week, or looking for a place to relax and enjoy a nice meal in a relaxing environment this is the place to go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snooty Fox also viewed

 
Droitwich, Worcestershire
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 
Caldbeck, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing