We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uldale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Snooty Fox
Ranked #1 of 1 Uldale B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is our second stay at the Snooty Fox. We have woke up again this morning having had quality sleep, to a wholesome breakfast (thanks Mark). Pat you have a really good Team and thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Habfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I ordered the starter – bacon, black pudding and sausage. I was amused by a 6” x 3” flat solid mass of bacon, black pudding and sausage meat all minced together, accompanied by a tired looking salad – it did not look or taste appealing. My main arrived and as I looked over it, my 8 year old daughter said exactly what I was thinking “Mummy, it looks like slop”. Again, tired looking vegetables, covered in cheese sauce – why would you use cheese sauce on broccoli. The Dauphinoise potatoes were just as bad, very dark potatoes underneath a very heavy cheese sauce. I hardly ate anything and should have complained, but we chose to pay and leave. The next night we stayed in, as I can cook better than this myself. It is pubs like this that take the “Mickey” out of the tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PatsyPastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uldale123, Manager at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments but their are a few points in which I'd like to make; Firstly the ' bacon, black pudding and sausage meat' starter is actually a terrine which is generally made of minced or layered meats/ fish/ vegetables layered in a terrine mould not a 'flat solid mass'. Secondly the chopped salads are made freshly each evening before service. Thirdly we take great pride in serving freshly prepared potatoes and vegetables not your usual hard boiled/ frozen variety which are served in most pubs in the area, we DO NOT CHARGE EXTRA for these fresh veg. (Unlike some places) unfortunately you should have got the 'Petit Pois et Frozen Chips'.
And lastly next time you dine out and dislike what you've had please complain and get the problem rectified instead of writing poor comments on trip advisor- Many Thanks Snooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Rooms where off a good size ,clean and comfortable ,the shower was a bit disappointing going from hot to boiling and then to cold all in the space of a few seconds then repeating the cycle again. the breakfast was good but it was at 8.30 which is far to late for me and thats what would stop me from staying there again .

    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uldale123, Manager at The Snooty Fox, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you Gerry A for your review I was slightly upset that you didn't feel that you would stay with us again due to our breakfast times, unfortunately we are a small country inn with limited bed space, we try our hardest to make guests feel welcome and cater for their needs but due to demand this is the earliest we do breakfast, maybe next time try larger hotels which are geared up for more people and early breakfast ( also twice the price!!!). Your comments on the shower were taken seriously and checked- shower was working as usual with constant hot water flow when room was remade on your departure, maybe a case of 'modern technology' getting to much for you.
As usual, please, in future inform of us of any problems which you have whilst staying with us and we will try to rectify them- maybe jut for you chef will get up 1/2 hour earlier!!!
Many Thanks Snooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were recommended this place by the host of where we were staying.

Although from the outside, the Pub does not look overly appealing, it was very different inside and we're definitely pleased we ventured in!

There was a good choice of local beer and the menu was good.

We all had starters
- king prawns - tasty!,
- pate - was nice to have a pate starter with sufficient bread!
- meat roulard - tasty!
All of the starters we recommend!

For mains there was a nice choice which we all enjoyed but we would recommend the pie from the specials board which was immense! :)

A very pleasant evening.

I would recommend you rang to book this place on popular weekends as it gets busy! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank George_bounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The setting for this hotel is beautiful, in the middle of nowhere nestled in the rolling hills of the lake district. The welcome was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty of parking and the village is really sleepy with nothing else there. There are only 3 rooms, mine was really lovely and decorated in a cottage style with pine furniture, book early to avoid disappointment. Had an evening meal, a table had been reserved and the food was very wholesome with good portions and a nice variety to choose from. The breakfast was equally good and again nothing was too much trouble. The rates are very reasonable and include breakfast, a good base for discovering the lake district. I travelled on my own and felt extremely comfortable in the pub and hotel. You will need to dirve to the higher part of the peaks to get a phone signal, no matter what you do it is non existant in the area - on a plus point though the hotel does offer free wifi and the connection is good. The bathroom has recently been updated and is really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We came to this pub by chance last night, although hoping for a room for the night, we stuck just for dinner as they were full. The ladies behind the bar were so friendly and very accommodating, as were the locals! The food was amazing, beautifully presented and delicious! They are dog friendly but still have the restaurant area where dogs aren't allowed to keep it fair. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CassandraOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Took mum and dad and friends for a meal on Saturday night, we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals served by friendly and proffesional staff, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoncasterCaravaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Snooty Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Snooty Fox

Address: The Old School The Snooty Fox Country Inn, Uldale CA7 1HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Uldale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uldale
Price Range: $54 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing