We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Snooty Fox
Nearby Hotels
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
76
12
5
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
12
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe puban evening mealred cabbagehalibutspecials boardbooked a tablelarge portionsslow cooked lambcauliflower cheeseselection of vegetablesbubble squeakgreat local pubcreme brûléefantastic foodlooking forward to visiting againnorthern lake districtpork belly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 100 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were recommended this place by the host of where we were staying.

Although from the outside, the Pub does not look overly appealing, it was very different inside and we're definitely pleased we ventured in!

There was a good choice of local beer and the menu was good.

We all had starters
- king prawns - tasty!,
- pate - was nice to have a pate starter with sufficient bread!
- meat roulard - tasty!
All of the starters we recommend!

For mains there was a nice choice which we all enjoyed but we would recommend the pie from the specials board which was immense! :)

A very pleasant evening.

I would recommend you rang to book this place on popular weekends as it gets busy! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank George_bounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The setting for this hotel is beautiful, in the middle of nowhere nestled in the rolling hills of the lake district. The welcome was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty of parking and the village is really sleepy with nothing else there. There are only 3 rooms, mine was really lovely and decorated in a cottage style with pine furniture, book early to avoid disappointment. Had an evening meal, a table had been reserved and the food was very wholesome with good portions and a nice variety to choose from. The breakfast was equally good and again nothing was too much trouble. The rates are very reasonable and include breakfast, a good base for discovering the lake district. I travelled on my own and felt extremely comfortable in the pub and hotel. You will need to dirve to the higher part of the peaks to get a phone signal, no matter what you do it is non existant in the area - on a plus point though the hotel does offer free wifi and the connection is good. The bathroom has recently been updated and is really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We came to this pub by chance last night, although hoping for a room for the night, we stuck just for dinner as they were full. The ladies behind the bar were so friendly and very accommodating, as were the locals! The food was amazing, beautifully presented and delicious! They are dog friendly but still have the restaurant area where dogs aren't allowed to keep it fair. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CassandraOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Took mum and dad and friends for a meal on Saturday night, we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals served by friendly and proffesional staff, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoncasterCaravaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Called in for an evening meal after a good day's hiking and was not disappointed. The food was very good with sizeable portions. The Guinea Fowl stuffed with Cumberland Sausage was very good. The only slight problem was a little bit of a wait as it was a mildly busy but the food was worth it. Very friendly hospitality.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank dso1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews