We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Curry House in Staveley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Starly's at Staveley - CLOSED

Starly's at Staveley
Price range: $19 - $27
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Starly's started out as Starly's Spice Co based in Orton, after 3 years of perfecting indian cuisine the mission was to showcase REAL Indian food in a friendly environment... Starlys At Staveley was born.
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Curry House in Staveley”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ate here last night with three friends to celebrate my birthday. The food and service are absolutely top notch. The menu is limited, but this gives them the opportunity to concentrate all their expertise on every dish on the menu, and believe me, the results are worth it! They don't have a drinks license, but are happy to provide glasses for you to bring your own, which suited us very well. The owners are very friendly, and give superb customer service without being intrusive. The building is on the small side, and old, but kept very clean, and the atmosphere in the dining room is pleasant. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    19
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely small welcoming restaurant with lovely food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The restaurant is small, as is the menu but it has a lovely intimate feeling. You take your own alcohol and you need to pay in cash, but this is well signed so isn't a problem. The lady who runs it is very welcoming and helpful. The menu is small but the food is excellent, and as a vegetarian I often suffer with lack of choice. It's worth noting it is only open on a thurs, fri and sat night and as we stayed in the village for a week had planned to go more than once, but again if you know in advance you can plan your trip. We'd Definately go again it was simply lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaymaker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"A New Star Of India In Cumbria"”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Friends took us to this fabulous "little eatery" in Staveley (situated between Windermere and Kendal) The Owner runs a spice business from the premises but more importantly uses his spices to great effect in his dishes - they are wonderful - and I speak as someone who historically always had a pint of lager and copious quantities of yogurt to acompany your usual Indian meal.
Yes, it is a fairly limited menu, yes the furnishings are quite basic and yes you have to bring your own drinks - no complaints there - and clearly from nobody else there when we were there - the place was packed.
The owners are to be congratulated on their friendly and professional style of welcoming guests and this transgressed into the whole atmosphere of the place.
We had 4 starters,4 main courses and 2 desserts @ £62

One tiny "complaint" - the ice cream was just a tad bland

Otherwise brilliant, we will go there again and tell everyone else as well

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“India in Staveley!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have travelled India extensively and have not found cuisine better than this!

The mix of beautifully cooked food, outstanding service and the very relaxed atmosphere make this a must visit to any Indian food lovers list.

My new favourite restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Star of Staveley”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My partner and I paid our first visit to Starly's last night.Places recommended can sometimes disappoint but this place lived up to its considerable and deserved reputation-delicious,flavoursome food,friendly owners and staff and a cheerful,welcoming ambience.Well worth a visit for anyone who enjoys Indian cuisine !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starly's at Staveley also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing