We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere.”

The Eagle and Child Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Staveley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
wigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had a few beers here on saturday and ate here on sunday.Great food,lovely ambiance, fiendly staff and locals. Good selection of real ales. Can,t wait to go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tirumasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    128
    37
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub/BnB”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My Wife and I stayed here recently and had a very pleasant stay. The room we were in was very quiet, clean and comfortable with a lovely view but the downstairs pub is where this place really shines - a proper, old fashioned woody pub with a quirky arrangement of many ornaments and artifacts that hang from the ceiling and adorn the walls which give the place an eccentric charm all of it's own.

And then we come to the food. ah, the food! We enjoyed some truly scrumptious meals from their menu; generous portions of absolutely top notch pub grub with a good selection for vegetarians also. In fact we rather wish we stayed longer if only to sample more of their awesome menu!

All in all, a great place to stay and/or pop in for a nice pint and a decent meal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Where Eagles Soar”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What an OUTSTANDING Inn and Restaurant, The Eagle and Child is in Staveley. The pub is a 2 minute walk from the Hawkshead Brewery and this is well worth a visit (beer Tapas was excellent). The staff at the Eagle and Child are excellent and our thanks to Tom and the team for making us feel so welcome. We have had the pleasure of fine dining at a variety of locations (it is a bit of a guilty pleasure) but my wife is adamant that the Sea Bass served on wilted Spinach, Butter Beans and Garlic is up there with the very best meals she has ever had the pleasure of eating (my Roasted Cod Loin was fab as well). An eclectic bar, two roaring log fires and and excellent selection of beers makes the Eagle and Child a no-brainer to return to. Plenty of parking and only 10 minutes from Bowness means you could use it as a base to wander the local area. We stayed in room 1 which is more to the side of the pub - no real view but an extra sofa bed means the room feels that little bit bigger. Spotlessly clean, very friendly and well worth a visit if you are checking up on the pub by reading recent reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ratty-and-Mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the best pubs in the lakes.A wonderful interior with welcoming open fires.The owners and staff are very friendly.Food superb, great value and a wonderful selection of local ales.I just wished I lived nearer,this would definately be my local.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant atmosphere”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Real fire, low lighting, excellent cask ales and a real classic pub feel. Huge portions of real pub food. Comfort food at its best! Great staff too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle and Child Inn also viewed

 
Staveley, Kendal
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Eagle and Child Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing