We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to the original friendly hostelry”
Review of The Duke William - CLOSED

The Duke William
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Returning to the original friendly hostelry”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I have been staying in Staveley every year for at least 20 years. We have seen the Duke go through many changes. We went in last week, We had a great meal, the ambience was back to the original Peter and Sylvia period. Well done to the new management.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    7
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice place with friendly staff but the food is cheap and not up to much. Why they don't raise their game and increase the price and quality of the basic £4.99 a meal is a mystery to me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great End to a Holiday”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We dined at the Duke William, Staveley, Cumbria, last Friday. The food was excellent, all meat sourced from the local butcher and a goodly sized portion. From Steak Ale and Mushroom Pie, to home made Meatballs in tomato sauce to Cumberland Sausage we were very satisfied indeed. The pie had the best puff pastry we have ever tasted. The portions were generous and served by friendly staff who made us very welcome. The price of each main course was just £4.95 - astonishingly good value. I would seek this pub out again if we're ever in the area. We visited it for a meal to round off a good holiday in the Lake District and were NOT disappointed. - Quite Splendid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Nice little pub not very nice meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We went or something to eat here on our last night in stavely. We had been previously or some drinks and were made to feel welcome. The food however was cold when we got it and wasn't very nice. The portion size was good and well priced but personally I don't enjoy my meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shabbabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was very cheap but limited choice and portion size. After a long day hiking would rather pay more for larger meal and better quality. Drinks a rip off. Bar man/landlord a misery! Staff not overly friendly either! Everyone left after eating! Go up the road to Eagle and Child great atmosphere and better beer/ larger soft drinks

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheldon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke William also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing