We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
89
150
133
59
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
89
150
133
59
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view staff were friendly and helpful biscuits sunday lunch good nights sleep plenty of parking excellent value for money coast to coast walk portions carvery refurb walkers pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 515 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Just returned from a trip to Cumbria with a group of seniors. The hotel is very tired looking but my husband and I were fortunate to have been allocated a refurbished room. It was large and very comfortable except for the pillows! They were hard and cheap. This is a shame as we had a new room with old bedding. Please Seacote upgrade your bedding too please. The bottom fitted sheet did not fit the mattress and the duvet needed upgrading. That is all of the negatives. The positives were the lovely friendly staff, Joe in the dining room and Danny in the bar along with all the other staff whose names I didn't get but they were all fantastic. The young girl behind the bar remembered our drinks order from the previous evening, nice touch! They put on entertainment for two of the four evenings we were there, very good singers. The breakfast was buffet with eggs to order, it was all very nice and the evening meals were very tasty and plentiful. The shower room was fantastic. Huge walk in shower, lovely pure white towels, constant hot water with a constant flow, just like home. If you are unfortunate enough to get the old rooms, they are not good. I had a look at one and I would not have stayed there. I can see why there are some bad reviews and some excellent reviews, it all depend which room you get! One more thing, Seacote need to repair floorboards as we could hear people get out of bed and walk across the room, that was very loud.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmoore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

We are a Dorset based Coach Operator and have just returned from bringing a Whist group to the hotel. Firstly what lovely staff you have. Thank you very much for looking after our group so well, especially Joe, who was exceptional. With regard to the hotel, clearly there are area that could do with improvement BUT the top two floors are now refurbed and work is ongoing to refurb the remainder. The hotel offers a fabulous location, only 20 metres from the beach and offers walkers and people who wish to just stroll and relax in beautiful suroundings an excellent stay.

With great prices all year round and reasonable food and service this hotel is very much worth considering.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view room ...
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Positives first nice room clean towells.

Now negatives.

Food Absoloutley horrendous. Had a meal in the bar which was called Coast to Coast.

This consisted of two slices of dried bread with a bit of Turkey in the middle. A spoonful of coleslaw that tasted like it had been made 2 weeks ago.

A bowl of soup that I left inedible. Greasy chips that were cold.

My partner had a thing and I mean thing that had a burger in a bread bun that had clearly been microwaved she took one bite left the rest.

Now to the cold bit.

We knew we would be late back after work so asked for a late key for the front door.

We fully paid our deposit for it and went on our way.

Returning at 12.40 am tired after working we proceeded to open the door ALAS key didn't work.

We tried and tried and tried no luck.

Another couple then arrived Huray we thought. Guess what their key didn't work.

We rang and rang the number phone number on the door but no one came.

We threw stones at Windows still no one came.

In desperation the other couple even rung the Police but they had no solution.

Eventually at 2/30 am the other couple found a way in through an Emergency door Hallelujah.

Next morning tired and cold we went for breakfast which consisted of inedible bacon inedible blackpudding scrambled egg that looked like sick and a sausage you'd need an Angle grinder to get through.

We then made our way to reception an made our complaints.

The chap on reception apologised and admitted he was on duty the night before and slept through our 2 hours of constant ringing.

Now anyone who could sleep through that is beyond me.

Either he was in bed with 3 page 3 models or was comotised but never slept through that surely.

Anyway we were offered 30 pound refund and we went on our merry way.

This hotel could definitely feature in a Stephen King horror movie.

It's got the cash it's got the location it's even got the story line 'Travellers stranded outside a deserted Hotel.

Now home but need medical attention for the phobia of Black pudding.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank IvorH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Seacote is a lovely old hotel in a beautiful location on the beach at the start of the Coast to Coast hike. The staff were friendly and helpful, food was good and available at good times for meals. The hotel itself is very much in need of renovation. In all fairness, they are renovating some rooms at this time, but ours, though spacious and with great potential, was very much in need of a new mattress and electrical sockets.

Room tip: ask if they have a reno room available, and also, what live entertainment might be happening that night
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 55Puffin2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Reception staff very friendly on check in. Helpful and politer Hotel looks like it is going through renovation. Our room sadly hadn’t been. Paid the same price as two friends saying in other rooms who paid same price for rooms that were much bigger and had sea views. Our room was looking worse for wear, flaking paint not the cleanest of bathrooms and no bin in the bathroom. Overlooking the entrance courtyard with skips in it. Was loud at night time as there were rowdy wedding guests. Friends in other room had no water so couldn’t shower or flush toilets and despite complaining about this it was not rectified. The bed in my room was very comfortable and after putting radiators on was warm enough to have a comfortable sleep. Tea and coffee making facilities also included in the room and lovely biscuits. At breakfast food was good however hot drinks were not hot and had to ask for fresh water to make warm brews. The lady hosting breakfast was a bit grumpy if I’m honest. Check out was pleasant and easy and 11 is a good checkout time when you have been to a wedding the night before. Close to the beach and lovely views from some rooms of this beach/sea. Not mine unfortunately.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank StephanieB2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews