We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”
Review of Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Bees
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 St. Bees B&B and Inns
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Queens Hotel St Bees 31.03.2014
£70 for a double ensuite B&B.
Difficulty parking close to the hotel as it is on the Main Street through the village. Parked on street a short walk away.
Nice friendly staff at all stages.
Our room, number 11, was on the front, above the front door of the hotel. As we struggled to turn the room thermostat down, we had the window open and it was a bit noisy until folk went home.
We had been told the room had been renovated, and improved. We see the quaint elements for what they are, a slightly sloping floor is expected in an old building. However, the wardrobe was tilted forward and someone had wedged it up with paper under one of its feet. Maybe a couple of chairs would have made the room more useable.
There are tea making facilities in the room.
The ensuite was bizarre. It is tiny, which is to be expected, but the updated fittings were more suited to a larger room. It was cramped.
We had a meal in the restuarant and it was just right.
Breakfast is between 7&8 am, which is ok for people setting off to do the walk, but early for us.
A bit less than we expected for the price.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the front door,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regburns53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
22
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I recently stayed with my partner in the hotel and found that the room we were in was in bad need of being redecorated and was not as clean as I thought it should have been. There was dust on the mirrors, the paint was peeling and there was dirt marks in places on the walls.
The meal that we had in the evening was nothing to write home about and the portion sizes where not great.
The staff (waitress and bar staff) were lovely and friendly and went out of the way to help you. The re was 2 that was there (the owners I thought) made us feel uneasy and at times unwelcome. The tone on manors that were used were condescending at times and belittling
All in all, not a pleasant time and will NOT be returning. In fact will stop across the road!!

Room Tip: Is our room is the standard there is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Bees hotels

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night visit and would like to express our gratitude to all at the Queen's for making our stay so pleasant. The room was quiet, spacious and comfortable and the food was excellent. We will certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
415 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I've visited this pub many times and always make a point of going when in the WesternLakes. These guys do the best Sunday Roast in the area. Cute little pub setting. Very friendly staff and nice selection of local Jennings ales.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We were not staying at the Queens, but our B&B mentioned them and we are very glad they did.
Food in England has made quantum leaps in the last years, and the Queen is a fine example of this. My wife enjoyed one of the specials of the day, a Local Sea Bass and a Chocolate Tart for dessert, while I had a succulent Lamb Shank and Toffee Pudding for dessert. All the food was well prepared and the services staff attentive.
I'd love the opportunity to go back and try a few other things!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelonVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenrothes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on a short trip to this very (too) quiet village. Staff were nice, ordered lunch which arrived very quickly, so obviously not freshly cooked . A baked potato had obviously been reheated a few times and was rather burnt. The waitress response to a comment about this was" oh sorry" no more said. Advice is , don't eat there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night. When we booked I was asked if I wanted a room in the old or new wing. Apparently the new wing are refurbished rooms and the old wing are not. There is a price difference for double room on b&b basis new wing £70.00 per night, old wing £55 per night.
In the end there was no availability in the new wing so we went with the old wing staying in room 3 -Devoke which overlooked Main Street.
We found the room comfortable and clean and adequate for an overnight stay. I think it is fair to say the furnishings and bathroom (which was rather on the small side) were a bit tired and dated. For instance hot cup ring marks on the bedside tables (its a shame there were no coasters !) and a carpeted bathroom !. If you want a more up to date room it would probably be best to pay a bit more and go for rooms in the new wing to avoid possible disappointment, that said we were quite happy with the room for an overnight and would be happy to stay in the same room again as it was clean and comfortable. One tip though -there is no hairdrier in the room !
We had dinner at the hotel in the evening which was excellent. A very good choice on the menu and we felt the food was excellent value for money. The staff were very attentive and welcoming. The breakfast in the morning (you pre order your choices the night before) was also excellent.
Overall we would definitely stay at this hotel again and almost certainly shall be in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing have been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Bees
0.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#4 of 9 in St. Bees
48 reviews
17.9 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rosthwaite
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Main Street, St. Bees CA27 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St. Bees
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. Bees
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel St. Bees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing