We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Bees
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 St. Bees B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food and attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night. When we booked I was asked if I wanted a room in the old or new wing. Apparently the new wing are refurbished rooms and the old wing are not. There is a price difference for double room on b&b basis new wing £70.00 per night, old wing £55 per night.
In the end there was no availability in the new wing so we went with the old wing staying in room 3 -Devoke which overlooked Main Street.
We found the room comfortable and clean and adequate for an overnight stay. I think it is fair to say the furnishings and bathroom (which was rather on the small side) were a bit tired and dated. For instance hot cup ring marks on the bedside tables (its a shame there were no coasters !) and a carpeted bathroom !. If you want a more up to date room it would probably be best to pay a bit more and go for rooms in the new wing to avoid possible disappointment, that said we were quite happy with the room for an overnight and would be happy to stay in the same room again as it was clean and comfortable. One tip though -there is no hairdrier in the room !
We had dinner at the hotel in the evening which was excellent. A very good choice on the menu and we felt the food was excellent value for money. The staff were very attentive and welcoming. The breakfast in the morning (you pre order your choices the night before) was also excellent.
Overall we would definitely stay at this hotel again and almost certainly shall be in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing have been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    12
    12
    9
See reviews for
14
22
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Myself & my wife were part of a group that was starting the Coast to Coast walk and we stayed at the Queens Hotel for two nights. Our room was on the first floor at the back with a view of the garden. It was a double but had very little space and the bathroom was very tiny. Overall we found the room overwhelmingly depressing, although perhaps it's the management's hope that you'll be downstairs in the bar and therefore hardly notice. The quality & quantity of the food however was very good and the service friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OB-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Myself and 8 colleagues stayed for one night before we started our coast to coast cycle ride.
Everyone commented on how nice the rooms were.
The bar serves good quality food at a reasonable price and the breakfast served was good too.
If I were to stay in st.bees again, I would not hesitate in booking the queens hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Only stayed here one night, the room was huge with two double beds, but was right over the kitchen. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was poor, there was no way to stop the water leaking onto the floor so spent significant time on hands and knees mopping it up. It was also right above the kitchen, so the smells drifted up, but as the food was good it wasn't too much of a problem.
The staff were friendly and welcoming, although breakfast is served strictly between 7-8 during the week, which seems faintly ridiculous. To the point where at 6.59 or 08.01 you'll find the doors locked to the dining area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This a fine hotel within walking distance of the train station.Three friends and I were beginning the coast to coast bike ride from St Bees to Sunderland. We had four bikes to store which was no trouble to do for the friendly welcoming staff. We were then showed our roms (two twins). They were very clean and the bathroom sparkled! The beds were soft and comfortable and there was plent of hot water and a shower. We went downstairs for a pint of beer and ordered our food. We ordered two Toad in the hole and two lamb shanks. The food arrived and the portins were substantial and very good quality stuff, they also had a list for breakfast the day after and the choice was astounding. Nice staff,rooms and food I can highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Wewere on the roadside which I think all the rooms are, but the noise was minimal,if they were rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked in here for an overnight stay after a coast to coast scooter run. The hotel was excellent, the staff were very good, nothing seemed too much. We had a meal in the evening it was excellent, great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room, very spacious with two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartlepoolPooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, tidy rooms and a great host on a very busy night. We had booked this room just as a place to rest our heads and it turned out much better than expected.

We had ridden from Saltburn on our vintage scooters and had no real expectation of the booking and certainly never expected what we received in the way of food especially.

We arrived late and we were catered for and the place was really busy. The staff were helpful and found the time to ensure you were happy. The food menu was extensive with fresh well cooked produce. A totally unexpected bonus. The breakfast was large and warm, fresh and just what we needed for a long ride home ack to the Midlands.

The room had been freshly done up to a good standard and the bed was comfortable in a warm room with a good shower. The interior was clean, fresh and a fitting reflection of what seems to be a real project for the owners. The s a real feel that thy are really trying to create a really nice establish in quite a less pretty area of the Lakes.

Would use again and would recommend for anyone staying in the town as a great base to explore the area or start the Coast2Coast.

There were no airs and graces but it ticked all the boxes for our event.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AttitudewithStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Bees
0.0 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St. Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
19.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
0.6 mi away
Ellerbeck Manor
Ellerbeck Manor
#4 of 9 in St. Bees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Main Street, St. Bees CA27 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St. Bees
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. Bees
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel St. Bees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing