We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonehouse Farm
Nearby Hotels
Seacote Hotel(St. Bees)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St. Bees)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grove Court Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
$69
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
86
60
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
60
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcoast to coastpacked lunchstayed hereb and bgreat place to startconvenient locationexcellent breakfastthe main househalf milebusiness tripcomfortable roomsbreakfast areasmall apartmentworking farmday's walkfriendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 156 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stone House Farm is a B&B in Cumbria. You can stay there, sleep well, eat a good breakfast and if you are really smart do the first half of the first day's walk on your first day and return to the B&B. The next day you only have to start at Sandith and walk to Ennerdale.
The owner Carol will give you all the information you need.

The accommodation is comfortable and quirky.

Room Tip: If you are tall ask for a room that doesn't have low beams.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithcharity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

After 15 nights in a variety of accommodation we can confirm that Stone House Farm rated as one of thetop places to stay.

Great location, excellent facilities and home cooked food, and lovely people headed by Carol Smith and her family

Room Tip: Leave it to Carol
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed one night in this B & B starting the Coast to Coast walk.

The small white building is traditional local, the cosy rooms are clean, spacious, and well furnished, with a nice welcome from the landlady.

Location is excellent, meters from the railway station.

Try room number 5.

Breakfast is better than standard (we tasted a lot).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This b and b was our first stay on the coast to coast walk. It was quite small, but clean and comfortable as stated above. There is car parking and the breakfast was enjoyable. My single room was fairly small but adequate for one person and wih all necessary facilities except a wi-fi connection. The bed was comfy and the room had plenty of natural light.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Stonehouse Farm in June at the beginning of our Coast to Coast trek. As we arrived from Liverpool by train it was excellent to find that our accommodation was just up the road from the station. We were greeted by Carole who was so helpful and friendly and gave us advice on what to see before we left St Bees the following day. Our accomodation was very comfortable and the breakfast was a very hearty full English breakfast. I would recommend staying at Stonehouse Farm if you are visiting St Bees or doing the Coast to Coast trek.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews