We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the Coast to Coast Walk”
Review of Stonehouse Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Bees
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Farm
Ranked #1 of 9 St. Bees B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great start to the Coast to Coast Walk”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

After 15 nights in a variety of accommodation we can confirm that Stone House Farm rated as one of thetop places to stay.

Great location, excellent facilities and home cooked food, and lovely people headed by Carol Smith and her family

Room Tip: Leave it to Carol
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
43
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maisons Alfort
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed one night in this B & B starting the Coast to Coast walk.

The small white building is traditional local, the cosy rooms are clean, spacious, and well furnished, with a nice welcome from the landlady.

Location is excellent, meters from the railway station.

Try room number 5.

Breakfast is better than standard (we tasted a lot).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This b and b was our first stay on the coast to coast walk. It was quite small, but clean and comfortable as stated above. There is car parking and the breakfast was enjoyable. My single room was fairly small but adequate for one person and wih all necessary facilities except a wi-fi connection. The bed was comfy and the room had plenty of natural light.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Stonehouse Farm in June at the beginning of our Coast to Coast trek. As we arrived from Liverpool by train it was excellent to find that our accommodation was just up the road from the station. We were greeted by Carole who was so helpful and friendly and gave us advice on what to see before we left St Bees the following day. Our accomodation was very comfortable and the breakfast was a very hearty full English breakfast. I would recommend staying at Stonehouse Farm if you are visiting St Bees or doing the Coast to Coast trek.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Convenient location and overall lovely property. A well equipped, comfortable and very spacious ensuite double. Good dining room and generous breakfast. Very clean. Host was friendly and helpful. I would book again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012WalkerC2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in one of the adjacent cottages which has 2 double bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom and living / dining room. Although the furniture and décor are a bit basic and dated everything we needed was there. 3 TVs, one in each bedroom and a nice large one in the living room. We had a lovely time. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our first stay in a B&B for a very long time so we weren't sure what to expect but we went on to sample another 17 B&Bs on the Coast to Coast Walk so our 3/5 rating reflects the range of experiences we had overall. Our hosts made us feel very relaxed. There was everything in the room that we needed: TV, hairdryer, standard double bed, shower room with toiletries included, ample tea and coffee making facilities including enough coffee to make a flask the next day. Excellent breakfast. Characterful old building so bedrooms are small and the plumbing is quite noisy but the location is really convenient close to the station and there's excellent pub food up the road at the Queen's Head.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Bees
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
420 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.2 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lulu's Bistro - Old Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Farm

Property: Stonehouse Farm
Address: 133 Main Street, St. Bees CA27 0DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > St. Bees
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. Bees
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonehouse Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly atmosphere guaranteed at this comfortable modern Georgian farmhouse. All rooms en-suite with TV. Situated in the centre of the village, close to all amenities and only 50 yds from St Bees railway station. Long stay parking is available for you to enjoy the Coast to Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Farm St. Bees, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing