We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coast to coast hubby and roadie wife”
Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“coast to coast hubby and roadie wife”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Enjoyed our one night stay here during my husbands coast to coast walk. Friendly staff, clean and tidy room with nice en suite. V good value home cooked evening meal and decent breakfast. We would return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    34
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
25
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night on the C2C hike in a large , modern and quiet room overlooking the main street. The room was very comfortable with a terrific bathroom. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the food was both generous and really good and the only issue was they requested all guests have breakfast no later than 8am as they were setting up for a lunchtime function. Not really a problem as we were in the swing of getting up early and on our way. This hotel is well located opposite the street where you leave Shap and continue your walk. After a long hike from Paterdale and finally enter Shap you still have a decent walk along the main street to reach the hotel although other hotels and B and Bs are even further along the incredibly long main street. I'd definitely recommend this hotel as an overnight stay on the C2C walk.

Room Tip: room overlooking main road was not noisy at all , even with window open , perhaps all traffic is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffKarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Shap was the fifth overnight stop on our coast to coast walk. Shap is a bleak looking place and it has nothing much going for it. It was once the main route from England to Scotland but since the arrival of the M6 there seems to be little reason for its existence except for a factory that produces lime for the steel industry. The road is flanked by less than cheery looking buildings. There are three pubs, a post-office and a co-op store. So, having arrived at the Kings Arms, we decided that we might as well stay there for dinner too rather than searching in vain among the myriad ofe local flesh pots. Check-in is from 3pm onwards. The Kings Arms is that very rare breed of establishment. It does not have a website – a pity, because it undersells itself. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hosts and Dave and Theresa.

The Kings Arms is a walker/cyclist friendly establishment. They have a drying room for your wet clothes and boots. Not many places do. After a major refurbishment of the hotel in 2006, the accommodation has a contemporary design. Our room was clean, neat and there was a comfortable bed. Our room had all of the usual facilities: a flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries and luxury towels. We were particularly pleased with the power shower. The bar is rather Spartan and there is not a great deal of atmosphere. There is the dreaded Sky Sports and a pool table, but these are sufficiently far away from where we dined not to intrude. There was a typical pub-food menu with all the English favourites: fish and chips, Lancashire hotpot, steak and ale pie, etc. The big surprise was that the food was exceptionally good. I had fish and chips and my wife had steak pie. The food was well cooked, tasty and fantastic value for money. It was the cheap-est place we ate at during our coast to coast walk but the quality was high. The fish was perfectly cooked and it was a large fillet of cod. The chips were perfect. My wife‘s steak pie was not served up in one of those annoying dishes, perched menacingly on a dinner plate, that are convenient for the restaurant but bad news for the diner. This was a large slab of pie full of perfectly cooked beef, and lots of it. She thought it one of the best steak pies she has eaten in a pub. They do packed lunches at around £4.95 per person. We were very satisfied with our stay and I suspect that you would not find anywhere else as good in Shap.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Looks like this place has been returned! It's spacious, clean, well laid out. The staff are very very welcoming and friendly. The rooms have ensuite facilities and the shower decent. Towels soft and fluffy. Bed linen crisp and decor modern. For the price it's perfect. Breakfast was consistent and the full English cooked well (big portion tho) beer garden at the back is a nice sun trap. Great base to explore! Food served on the menu has plenty of options... It's pub food - large portions, well cooked but nothing special but then priced at £6 a meal not composing. Recommend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllstarAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Two tired travellers, we arrived here late in the night on a previous trip. Soon felt at home with a lovely meal. My husband watched the soccer (kept his Liverpool affiliation quiet) whilst I had an early night. The host cooked us a beaut breakfast the next day, and kept us company. It was Guy Fawkes night and the "highlight" was two youngsters who started a fire. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a local feel with lovely refurbished rooms and a friendly environment. We will definitely be reliving this on our next trip.

Room Tip: Double glazing on windows meant our front room was still quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I cant vouch for the food as I have never eaten here however I have been in many times over the years and the staff cant be faulted, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile for the coast to coast walkers, also a favourite pub for the locals. The rooms are nice and modern also. The back of the Hotel/Pub offers a nice garden area, lovely to relax with a beer on a sunny day!. I would suggest however to check if there is any entertainment happening in the Pub on your arrival date, as it can get quite busy and loud, maybe not ideal if you have a quiet and relaxing weekend planned!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stopped over during July 2013. Having being spoilt in the lakes my initial impressions on entering the hotel were not good, but I was soon taken in by the friendliness of the locals, fellow travellers and the hosts. The room was good, as was the bar meal (great ribs) and the breakfast. Intend to return later in the year as a base for some of the Far Eastern Fells.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
3.4 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
5.9 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
423 reviews
19.4 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
487 reviews
13.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Shap CA10 3NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing