We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Shap
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveler rating
469
546
319
131
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
469
546
319
131
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels coach party coach trip bath house hotel grounds single track road the main hotel lake district off the beaten track buffet style bar prices duty manager evening entertainment gb tours tea and coffee games room night break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel for a night and I would totally recommend this place to anyone .
The staff are friendly and the hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere.
Would like to say a big thank you to Robert the operation manager , it's nice to meet someone who takes pride in the job they do .
Would stay again , hopefully soon !!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig2050, General Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest - Thank you for your review - We use all reviews to help us improve the product we offer at Shap Wells Hotel - I am pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit and I will certainly pass on your nice comments to Robert - I do hope I am able to welcome you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel in March to stay in September only to arrive to be told they did not have a room for us. They had arranged a room at another hotel. The price would remain the same and we would get a bottle of wine with our meal. The Operations Manager never apologised or said the word sorry. They even admitted that parties booked after us were staying at the hotel. He did , however, say that they were a coaching hotel. It is quite apparent that independent travellers are just used as stop gaps and are not really welcome. Luckily the hotel they moved us to was a lot better.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig2050, General Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest - Thank you for your review - We use all reviews to help us improve the product we offer at Shap Wells Hotel - I apologise you were not informed before arrival this was due to the agent you booked with could not give us your contact details- Unfortunately from time to time due to operational issues we have to outbook to another hotel - I do know however both the receptionist and the operations Manger did apologise when they were giving you the directions to the other hotel - I am sorry that you felt unfairly treated and happy the alternative accommodation was satisfactory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the shap wells on September 2nd for five days and enjoy everything about it.
It’s set a way from the road and you do think gosh where are we going but when you get there and see the beautiful grounds and hotel you will not be disappointed. I have read reviews that say it needs updating this hotel is old and the decor is amazing keeping it in it’s tradition. We had a lovely room on the small side and one thing the basin was in the room but ok no big deal.
The view was lovely especially seeing the rabbits and red squirrels around in the morning. The restaurant looked lovely and food excellent I’m a vegetarian and enjoyed the meals. We walked to see the red squirrels in the morning and through some of the grounds seeing the streams and beautiful trees around. Entertainment every night which we didn’t expect was nice.
The staff helpful and friendly, the hotel allows dogs and I had a friend come to see me with her boxer dog he was made so welcome. ( the dog lol ) The hotel is in a good place to get around and visit other places the Lake District is stunning.
Yes there were other coaches in but no problem with dinning they have two or three sittings but you are not rushed.
Would we go back most definitely...

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MaureenR660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig2050, General Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest - Thank you for your review - We use all reviews to help us improve the product we offer at Shap Wells Hotel - I am pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit and you enjoyed seeing the red squirrels - I do hope I am able to welcome you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

We arrived with our dogs. The rooms were large and spacious. We had a meal in the restaurant, what a surprise, the portions were huge and the food was so good. We took the dogs everywhere with us and they were made welcome in the hotel. I have recommended this hotel to friends and family

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig2050, General Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Dear Guest - Thank you for your review - We use all reviews to help us improve the product we offer at Shap Wells Hotel - I am pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit and that you dogs had a good time as well - I do hope I am able to welcome you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Not easy to find off the A6 but was welcoming lovely meal in restaurant choices set menu or buffet the night we were there and hot buffet breakfast.There were two coaches in the night we were in but it was well organised and didn’t interfere with our stay

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank 11oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig2050, General Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Dear Guest - Thank you for your review - We use all reviews to help us improve the product we offer at Shap Wells Hotel - I am pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit - I do hope I am able to welcome you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews