We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tufton Arms Hotel(Appleby-in-Westmorland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burrow Hall(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Howtown Hotel(Howtown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cragg Farm(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveler rating
374
453
250
92
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
453
250
92
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach partiesred squirrelscoach tripbath houselake districthotel groundssingle track roadparty nightevening mealthe main hotellarge hotelbuffet styleinteresting historybar menuoff the beaten trackremote locationduty manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on a Coach Tour with my wife who is blind and her Guide dog.
The Management and Staff were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.
The food was very good, room clean, and good service, which made it a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jer419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shapwellshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to read positive comments about the services and facilities we offer our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future especially the fact you mention the fact you cant wait to go back shows how much you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Quiet, secluded, beautiful and full of character. We stayed two nights at the Shap Wells, fantastic hotel, helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast and red squirrels! This is currently a three star hotel which could quite easily be 4, bedroom and bathroom were compact but clean and very comfortable, but would benefit from a refurbish (and probably get them that 4th star!).
Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in room 35 in the main hotel (second floor just above the entrance), didn't see rooms in the newer part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanstockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shapwellshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments and to read " Shap Wells - We will be back " is very satisfying to see for the Hotel Management and the staff who have made you want to express that comment.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel and using your words " Shap Wells - We will be back " lets hope you do return to us in the near future.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hi,
Three of us travelled with GB Tours Holidays and the coach was supplied by Alan Davis Travel. We had the most fantastic 2 days, everything was perfect but the hotel is what I will write about. Desolate, you would need a car to get out from the hotel but we were on a coach break, so we knew what was to happen. The hotel staff, are exceptional, very helpful, friendly and with a smile. The food was hot no piping hot. The service was very very quick again with a smile.Bar prices were not expensive, when really, they could charge whatever they want, no one nearby. The bedrooms are ok, the only downside and it is a very small negative the floorboards creek, everywhere you walk. If you are planning to stay here, go and enjoy. We didn't see any wildlife which apparently is possible but it was cold, they were probably indoors. Oh and yes, FREE wifi, why can't everyone do it, greed, probably.

Room Tip: I wouldn't think there would be any difference, looking at the building, it would be more or less the same, there is a lift, if like me you need one.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shapwellshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for writing about your stay at the Hotel after staying with a GB coach Tour.
It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback and especially when the staff are recognised for their efforts.
Our Staff are real Ambassadors for the Hotel and to read you thought they were exceptional is a credit to them and I will be delighted to pass on your comments to all of them.
Thank you for your comments on our Bar prices I can assure you the Hotel tries to maintain competative prices whilst not wanting to take advantage of our location.
I have noted your comments on our creeky floorboards the age of the Hotel has an impact on your observations and it is something we need to see if we can address in the future.
Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed one night on our outward journey on our tour of Scotland with GB Tours. Everything perfect for this purpose including room, food and staff. Must do again. liked the choice of the table for two for the meals.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shapwellshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent overnight stay on your trip to Scotland.
I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and you would like to stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shapwells in the near future.

Regards.

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch. Previouly disappointing but this time so much better. Staff helpful and friendly. Food was varied, hot and good choice. Lovely grounds . Much improved will certainly return. Staff made arrangements for a birthday cake. Children in the party were catered for and loved the sqirrells.

Just don't be put off by the long route from the main road

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shapwellshotel, Guest Relations Manager at Shap Wells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Hotel for Sunday Lunch. I was very pleased to read your very positive comments on your overall experience.
We pride ourselves on our Sunday Carvery and it is very important we offer a good selection of food as well as being able to cater for children.
Once again our Red Squirels receive a mention we know so many of our guests enjoy seeing them when they visit the Hotel.

Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews