We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing house, huge room”
Review of The Hermitage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hermitage
Ranked #2 of 2 Shap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing house, huge room”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed along with David B quoted above and can back up his comments. Not only was the room as large as some London apartments, it provided the first opportunity for a bath we'd had on our Coast-to-Coast trip - a boon for walkers. The house is amazing and atmospheric. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at the Hermitage. Jean was very welcoming and not at all as described in previous reviews. She offered to dry any wet clothes, gave information about where to eat and shared a few jokes. She did come across as a straight talking no fuss type of person, but she certainly wasn't rude. The house is amazing. Decor may not be to everyones taste (I wouldn't have that wallpaper in my house!) but it suits the house perfectly. Our room was very large with very comfortable furniture and a big en-suite bathroom. There was no shower which may bother some people. Breakfast was good and very well presented.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We'd trudged through the tail end of Hurricane Katia all the way from Patterdale and arrived at The Hermitage drenched and exhausted. It is a gorgeous house fitted out with beautiful antique furniture. Our room was lovely and spacious with very comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and even two bath robes. The en-suite bathroom was furnished with toiletries including Radox, just the thing after a long trek in the rain and wind, and the breakfast the following morning was very adequate.
Unfortunately the owner was not very welcoming. It was though we were an inconvenience. She was blunt, not at all friendly, and difficult to engage in conversation. Her general attitude did not match the splendour of the house. What a pity because had she been more personable we would have scored The Hermitage higher.
She complained that for the last few weeks most of the walkers had arrived wet through and wanted things drying. Unreasonable? Well after all this is England, it does rain a lot and surely most of her business comes from C 2 C walkers who, we would have thought, will frequently arrive in a wet and bedraggled state.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

It has taken me a number of months to write this review but I will do so after a recent visit with friends who also stayed here at the same time. The Hermitage is quite lovely and the room was very large and comfortable. As guests, we felt like we were imposing on the owner. The weather had been very bad walking over Kidsty Pike on our C2C walk. We were soaked to the skin and extremely cold. Jean, the owner, asked us to remove our boots which was no problem but there was a limited supply of newspaper to stuff in our boots to help them dry. If you are hiking long distances on the C2C there is nothing worse than wet, soggy boots to start the day. We returned from our dinner at 9PM to find the boots in the same place and just as soggy. The next morning the boots were just as wet. Breakfast was good but Jean was unhappy as her family had consumed all the orange juice and there was none for us. In addition, she made it very clear that she was unhappy with us for taking our boots to our room to dry. Having a discussion with her was, unfortunately, pointless.
The gate closer and his wife.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolofadang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Night 5 of the C2C. Big, big day and thought we'd never get there! We were delighted to find it was one of the quicker to find B&B's in a town that is, well, a bit soulless on the surface.

Jean met us at the door, got us to remove muddy boots and suggested we bring down wet clothes to be dried. She showed us to a large twin room upstairs, across some creaky floors (you'd never be able to sneak in here after midnight!) with an ensuite down some stairs at the end of the room and divided off by a curtain. The ensuite was large and had a bath plus Radox for tired and weary walkers. Plenty of hot water as well.

The bedroom was old fashioned but comfortable, but my tall mate did have to be careful with the buttresses and low doorways! We had tea making facilities, biscuits and a small TV.

Jean didn't feel comfortable recommending anywhere for dinner and so we chanced one of the pubs. It was close by, adequate without being great, and we did meet a few other walkers in there. Breakfast the next day was really good. Plenty of choice and I think we disappointed Jean by ordering only cereals, fruits and toast. Jean was far chattier in the morning and we ended up feeling quite welcome.

Jean is proud of her 17th century house and it is a gem. It was a good place to take a break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A great treat to stay in a 17th century house, tastefully modernised, welcoming owner. The best breakfast ever.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed in the B&B whilst walking the Coast to Coast. Its a beautiful property with lovely old-fashioned rooms, a spacious bathroom, very clean. B&B owner greeted us on arrival - took all our wet clothes and dried them for us. Really friendly, and an excellent breakfast. I'd definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggxdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shap
3.8 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
7.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
8.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.1 mi away
New Ing Lodge, Shap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage

Property: The Hermitage
Address: The Hermitage Main Street, Shap CA10 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Shap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shap
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing