We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmospheric!”
Review of Thorns Hall

Thorns Hall
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorns Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedbergh
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here and loved it! The hall itself dates back to 1530's and is very atmospheric with its nooks and crannys and even a preist hole.
There were four of us (2 couples) and we were the only residents there so we had the whole hotel to ourselves. We had room 1 which was upstairs in the main house. And our freinds had room 25 which was also in the main house but on the ground floor at the front. Their room was enormous with a settee and a full sized bathroom. Our room was smaller with just a shower. I can honestly say that the shower was the best I have experienced. The water was piping hot. The rooms and beds were all very clean. The room had a flat screen TV, kettle with ample coffee and tea, and fluffy white towels. They do only change the towels once a week unless you ask. The breakfast was the best I have ever had. There was just so much choice of foods and nothing was too much trouble for the waitress and chef. Our friends even had blueberry pancakes with maple syrup on the second morning.
I booked our stay through laterooms but the hotel is actually owned by a walking holiday company. We would definitely return and would love to see it in the summer with the gardens in bloom.
Sedbergh is approximately 5-10 minutes walk away. There are spa shops, banks and pubs in the village centre. Would definitely recommend a trip to Farfeild Mill which is about 1 mile away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently had an overnight stay at the atmospheric Thorns Hall in Sedbergh. The historic building has lots of character and points of interest and the proprietors were polite and friendly and looked after us very well. The established garden was lovely with beautiful well cared for roses etc, all of which complimented the historic building perfectly. Car parking facilities easily accessible. All told we had a lovely stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Situated at the foot of the Howgills,Thorns Hall is a beautiful building in a wonderful setting. We stayed there for a week in May and everything was spot on. I would particularly praise the food at Thorns, breakfast & evening meals are fantastic and the help yourself picnic lunches they do are superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jovial59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The house is a 16th century manor house and looks very handsome from the outside. Inside it is something of a maze with lots of stairs and raised thresholds so it is definitely not suitable for anyone with limited mobility .
We paid extra for a better room and were pleased - it was a light spacious twin room at the front of the house. The furnishings were modern but not luxurious. A second bedside table would have been nice.
The en-suite facilities were up to date if a bit cramped - the shower cubicle was small. The shower itself was very efficient, however.
Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room; also a clock/radio and flatscreen TV. There was also free Wifi access
The food was consistently good. For breakfast cereals, porridge, full English breakfast, toast and croissants were all available.
We had packed lunches every day. You choose your sandwich filling or salad the day before. You then pick them up at breakfast adding any extras you fancy - fruits, nuts, confectionary bars, cheese portions etc. from the lunch table.
You also choose dinner from a list the day before. There were about three choices of starter, main course and dessert. The standard was very good all the time we were there - good ingredients, well-cooked. Two examples I happen to remember were: roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and salmon in hollandaise sauce.
You have both breakfast and dinner at round tables which seat eight people so if you enjoy socialising this is the place for you. You will meet a lot of HF holidaymakers, many of them on walking holidays. In our experience they are a very sociable group of people. However, if you like privacy this is probably not for you as there are no individual tables.
This area is part of the Yorkshire Dales and the scenery is beautiful, especially on a sunny day. However, bring wet-weather clothes as well - it doesn't have waterfalls and lakes for no reason! We were here in early September and had a generous amount of rain!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room at the front of the house - they overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doryhunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Thorns Hall with Hf walking holidays. The rooms were comfortable, a bit small but clean and with all necessary amenities for a pleasant stay. The meals were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Hf holidays are an excellent way to see the beautiful countryside, enjoy great walks and meet people. Everything was very well organised and the walks were well planned and the guides were very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend hf holidays and a stay at Thorns Hall Sedbergh and the unforgettable Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelleyAnne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Whilst it is clearly based around walking groups, this place is in need of a major refurbishment. From the outside it looks encouraging, but inside is a different story. With minimal staffing, reception does bar, does food, does sandwich orders for the next day! I was also asked to pay a £20 "joining fee" which I declined. The room I had was a single, for which I was charged £93 a night. Hard bed, tiny tv, and the bathroom was basic. To top it off the water was tepid in the morning and the sachets of all in one shampoo/conditioner/body wash might have covered a mouse!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aldamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
13.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
16.2 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Head at Middleton
The Head at Middleton
#1 of 1 in Middleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorns Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorns Hall

Property: Thorns Hall
Address: Thorns Hall Cautley Road, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorns Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from 1535, the small manor house of Thorns Hall retains its historic charm with wood-panelled public rooms, fireplaces and a cobbled courtyard outside. With an enviable location on the edge of Sedbergh, and surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside, it's not surprising that many of our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Thorns Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorns Hall Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing