We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorns Hall
Nearby Hotels
$94
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
$87
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$157
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$111
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
13
15
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
15
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshf holidayswalking holidayhistoric buildingroom was spaciousyorkshire dalesannextalkswifistrangersmediumwalkswalkersaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 34 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Situated at the foot of the Howgills,Thorns Hall is a beautiful building in a wonderful setting. We stayed there for a week in May and everything was spot on. I would particularly praise the food at Thorns, breakfast & evening meals are fantastic and the help yourself picnic lunches they do are superb.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jovial59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The house is a 16th century manor house and looks very handsome from the outside. Inside it is something of a maze with lots of stairs and raised thresholds so it is definitely not suitable for anyone with limited mobility .
We paid extra for a better room and were pleased - it was a light spacious twin room at the front of the house. The furnishings were modern but not luxurious. A second bedside table would have been nice.
The en-suite facilities were up to date if a bit cramped - the shower cubicle was small. The shower itself was very efficient, however.
Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room; also a clock/radio and flatscreen TV. There was also free Wifi access
The food was consistently good. For breakfast cereals, porridge, full English breakfast, toast and croissants were all available.
We had packed lunches every day. You choose your sandwich filling or salad the day before. You then pick them up at breakfast adding any extras you fancy - fruits, nuts, confectionary bars, cheese portions etc. from the lunch table.
You also choose dinner from a list the day before. There were about three choices of starter, main course and dessert. The standard was very good all the time we were there - good ingredients, well-cooked. Two examples I happen to remember were: roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and salmon in hollandaise sauce.
You have both breakfast and dinner at round tables which seat eight people so if you enjoy socialising this is the place for you. You will meet a lot of HF holidaymakers, many of them on walking holidays. In our experience they are a very sociable group of people. However, if you like privacy this is probably not for you as there are no individual tables.
This area is part of the Yorkshire Dales and the scenery is beautiful, especially on a sunny day. However, bring wet-weather clothes as well - it doesn't have waterfalls and lakes for no reason! We were here in early September and had a generous amount of rain!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room at the front of the house - they overlook the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doryhunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Thorns Hall with Hf walking holidays. The rooms were comfortable, a bit small but clean and with all necessary amenities for a pleasant stay. The meals were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Hf holidays are an excellent way to see the beautiful countryside, enjoy great walks and meet people. Everything was very well organised and the walks were well planned and the guides were very friendly and professional. I would highly recommend hf holidays and a stay at Thorns Hall Sedbergh and the unforgettable Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShelleyAnne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Whilst it is clearly based around walking groups, this place is in need of a major refurbishment. From the outside it looks encouraging, but inside is a different story. With minimal staffing, reception does bar, does food, does sandwich orders for the next day! I was also asked to pay a £20 "joining fee" which I declined. The room I had was a single, for which I was charged £93 a night. Hard bed, tiny tv, and the bathroom was basic. To top it off the water was tepid in the morning and the sachets of all in one shampoo/conditioner/body wash might have covered a mouse!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building maybe
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aldamski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews