We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American Traveling Morrice 38”
Review of Howgills Bunk Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howgills Bunk Barn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We filled the Bunk Barn to capacity, but in spite of that, the staff never failed to be helpful and courteous. The Barn was always clean, and that was a challenge with 38 men getting it dirty. Nigel and his family went out of their way to ensure that my missing luggage was delivered without incident by the airline courier service, on a Saturday afternoon. That's exceptional customer service. I would stay at Howgill's again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble_Country, Owner at Howgills Bunk Barn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Greatly appreciate your kind words and we are so glad that you all enjoyed your visit as much as we saw you perform in the Town for us. May you all enjoy many more tours to other places in the world and hopefully may your memory of your stay at the Howgills Bunk Barn live on with your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Howgills Bunk Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

About thirty-two of my mates and I recently had the pleasure of lodging at Howgill's for a week, while touring the Dales and the Lake District. It was everything one could wish for - a restored stone barn, set in the gorgeous Cumbria hills, among ancient stone walls and lots of sheep. Nigel and his staff were completely marvelous, and it was a wonderful place to return to, each evening. Free wifi, plenty of common-area space, and a short walk down to Sedbergh, a quintessential Cumbria village with welcoming pubs, and beauty everywhere. I'd strongly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w4rbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at the Bunk Barn whilst walking the Dales Way. If the Bunk Barn isn't full, they'll accept individual bookings. Turned out I was the only person staying that night. The Bunk Barn is clean, comfortable with excellent facilities, and I'd definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank BrianWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble_Country, Guest Relations Manager at Howgills Bunk Barn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments and yes we do offer individual places when we have them and best telephoned direct to mobile from our website contact page if last minute after office shut.
We do aim to provide good quality accommodation at reasonable prices and so we are pleased to have your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a lovely place to stay for our staff weekend away. The bunk barn is very well equipped and is very clean and comfortable. The track to the barn is bumpy and quite narrow but well worth the journey when you arrive. The barn is also within easy walking distance to the main street in Sedbergh which makes it easy to visit the local pub's and restaurants. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A large group of cyclists stayed at Howgills Bunk Barn and had a great time. The accommodation was excellent and plenty of space to chill out at the end of a hard cycle. Good pubs in the village. The cycling was superb, few cars, lots of hills, and beautiful countryside. Buttertubs is probably a cycle too far and to be treated with more respect next time. For the last few days we changed to walking the Howgills, which are rugged and spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank RoosterTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowgillsBunkBarn, Owner at Howgills Bunk Barn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

So glad you folks had a great week here. As you found, we have some great cycling areas here which can offer gentle, level and quite roads off the main 'A' roads but also provide some more challenging hilly areas that aren't too far away and will be part of 2014 Tour de France routs in Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Myself and a group of 19 stayed at the barn for a stag weekend. It was a perfect venue, set in a beautiful location. We made full use of the sports pitch and was within a good walking distance down to the village. Nigel and the team were very helpful in planning the weekend and sharing their local knowledge.
All the rooms were a good size and the communal areas were ideal for a group.
I would fully recommend the barn to any group and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59RossW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

35 of us stayed at the barn recently - we had an amazing time! The barn was spotless and the surroundings were beautiful (although the weather could have been better). The barn was perfectly equipped for self catering which made things a lot easier as the town centre and shops were a 10 minute walk away. The living room and TV room upstairs were very cosy and perfect for relaxation after a walk up winder! Would definitely recommend the barn for anyone who is after a fantastic time with friends or family!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
0.4 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
33 reviews
13.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
413 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Head at Middleton
The Head at Middleton
#1 of 1 in Middleton
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
8.4 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 12 in Sedbergh
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#4 of 12 in Sedbergh
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howgills Bunk Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howgills Bunk Barn

Address: Castlehaw Farm Castlehaw Lane, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sedbergh
Price Range: $104 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howgills Bunk Barn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howgills Barn is a unique place to stay in the charming market town of Sedbergh, Cumbria, situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and near the Lake District. Our barn is a perfect place to get together with friends and family as there is so much space and the scenery is breath taking. The barn is set up a winding lane but is only a few minutes walk from the independent cafes and shops in town. There are lots of things for the family to see and do (if you want to!!) Our accommodation is close to the beautiful market towns of Kendal and Kirkby Lonsdale and approximately a half hour drive from the Lake District. Our accommodation offers; - 8 en-suite bedrooms (sleeping up to 35 guests) - large lounge - 2 kitchens - upstairs lounge - games room - outside games field - drying room - hot tub (which we offer through a partner, so there is an additional charge for this) - we are dog friendly - parking for up to 20 cars - wi fi - we can organise a whole host of activities for your visit and we can even arrange hot food to be delivered to your door! We also offer Apartments within Sedbergh offering 32 beds of various combinations. Double rooms, Twin Rooms and 4 person bunk bed rooms. Altogether, Howgills Group accommodation can look after up to 75 people across both properties in 64 beds in 20 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Howgills Bunk Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howgills Bunk Barn Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing