We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys Temperance Inn

The Cross Keys Temperance Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Sedbergh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: www.cautleyspout.co.ukB and B and restaurant
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Food is always plentiful and wholesome - good hones home cooking! And the place is so quirky it's always a pleasure - especially when the fire is on! it's temperance though - but they'll always be happy to open your bottle for you in the evening if you bring it along!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hamilc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a wonerful place...inside and OUT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What character this old Inn has inside and what beautiful and interesting wild life and views outside. My wife and i had been walking for a few miles and had worked up an appetite when we reached this unlicensed, Temperance Inn. I do not know all the history that has led it to be what it is but I DO know that the present day food and drinks menu is imaginative and wide-ranging.

Our meal was delicious and we sat in a conservatory looking out onto the surrounding hills with a large bird feeding box right in front of us. Excellent! Both the lounge area and the restaurant became very busy whilst we were there which shows people can enjoy themselves when no alcohol is available!! I thorough recommend this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasg0wJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amazing place and I've never been anywhere else quite like it. Very homely and welcoming with a varied menu. I had the rabbit and black pudding pie (delicious), washed down with a dandelion and burdock and also a sarsaparilla.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Have visited the Cross Keys on numerous occasions across the years and have never been disappointed. Visiting in Winter is a joy with the roaring Fire in the antiquated Lounge and the 'Proper' Pot of Tea that you easily get 3 cups out of is something that is very satisfying on a cold Winters Day and if accompanied by one of their lovely Homemade Cakes it is delightful. The restaurant meals are excellent too and if its warm enough, sit in the conservatory, with its lovely views of 'Walking Stick Shaped' Cautley Spout Waterfall, nestling amidst the bulk of the Howgill Fells, then its worth every penny. Oh yes! and not forgetting the delights of watching dozens of birds of many species, feeding at the Feeding station just outside the conservatory Window as you eat - i really cannot fault this place if you want a nice relaxing meal away from the madding crowd.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting history and lovely birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I still remember having ham and eggs here more than forty years ago, after walking over the Calf and down Cautley Spout in the fog. The place is still beautiful, and birds are encouraged with lots of feeders in the garden behind. You may see a tree creeper if you are fortunate. As well as the obligatory ham and eggs for which the place is famous, you will find a range of excellent sandwiches and cakes for those who have already enjoyed a cooked breakfast elsewhere. What you will not find is beer, or indeed any other alcohol, as this is a temperance inn, once very common in this part of the world, where quaker land and mill owners exerted a powerful influence. It is an excuse to explore some very esoteric soft drinks and enjoy the beautiful scenery. For those who are not quite up to walking across the Howgills to Black Force, a wander up the dramaitic glacial valley towards Cautley Spout is well worthwhile, and will help to work off your lunch!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank skyflame16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross Keys Temperance Inn also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Cross Keys Temperance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing