We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dalesman Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very welcoming place with much ambience, our overnight stay was in Room 4 on the first floor. Room was very cosy with nice ensuite, the bed was the most comfortable i had ever slept in in an hotel, with goose and duck down pillows and duvet you can be assured a very cosy nights sleep for the weary walker. Plenty of tea and coffee available in the room, bottled water provided as well you also get a few sachets of fresh coffee and a coffee pot to make it in....nice touch.
We dined in and had the steak which are very good....not sure about the tired cracked wooden plates the food was served on....you know what they say about wooden chopping boards...same goes for wooden plates...a minor gripe. Breakfast was good but they ran out of black pudding and sausage !!...it wasn't that busy either...come on guys...must do better...its the little things like this thats remembered. Would definitely go back for another stay soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 221 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Called in late afternoon yesterday, obviously not used to solo females. Couldn't get to bar for group of fellas and had to walk around central pillar. Beer selection poor and quite frankly my half was awful, £1.70, left mist of it. Was expecting cosy pub on an autumn afternoon but was disappointed. Asked if there was WiFi but was put in my place and told for residents only. Sorry but won't be going again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank whiterose307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Called in for a drink over the weekend, 2 adults and 3 children, nice atmosphere., friendly staff, but shocked when I was charged NINE POUND for three cokes for the kids , was going to eat but decided against it because of this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SMGE553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were booked into the cottage for our stopover along the Dalesway. Some confusion about our booking when we arrived which was a pain as we were quite tired and ready for a rest, but the member of staff was reasonably helpful. Only 2 of us, so the cottage was really comfortable and we wished we could have stayed longer to fully appreciate the home comforts. The place was cold when we arrived and it would have been nice for someone to pop the heating on ready for us- although it soon warmed up. Hoots of laughter when we realised it was called Bell End Cottage (look for the bell outside on the street). Breakfast in the Inn was good - high quality produce in quite luxurious surroundings and the breakfast service was great too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We turned up muddy and wet but where shown to brilliant room with a great bed ,we where told that the carpets where heavy duty .The shower and everything about the room was spotless and a great size . There was a bit of noise but it would not deter us from using again.The staff where excellent helping me get medical treatment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This delightful pub has great atmoshere along with excellent service and food. I highly recommend an evening here. You would not be disappointed based on my experience. The staff were efficient and courteous, the meal great and a pleasing choice on the menu

Room Tip: Book a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy_gsandycreekqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with the family had a lovely little room that was recently and stylishly re-decorated. Had dinner in the bar fantastic food really good quality nice choice and well presented. The bar had a selection of well-kept real ales and a good wine list. Breakfast were nice too would have liked more vegetarian options but other than that really well.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, made our stay memorable. Lack of parking is a bit of a problem though you can find street parking not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markesmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedbergh hotels
0.7 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
34 reviews
0 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#3 of 12 in Sedbergh
259 reviews
8.7 mi away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#5 of 12 in Sedbergh
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howgills Apartments
Howgills Apartments
#2 of 8 in Sedbergh
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summerhill B&B
Summerhill B&B
#6 of 12 in Sedbergh
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howgills Barn
Howgills Barn
#1 of 8 in Sedbergh
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalesman Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalesman Country Inn

Address: Main Street, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range: $112 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dalesman Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dalesman Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalesman Country Inn Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing