We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dalesman Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What I would expect from a small place - people were personable, but you do need to be intrusive and ask questions as they don't offer a lot of details. Our room - double and a fold out couch for the two of us and our daughter - was very cute and clean. The food was good - especially the 28 day aged steak. We were there 2 nights and ate there both evenings as not a lot open later in the evening. Definitely would stay again. Breakfast was all you could ask for -

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    25
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
77
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were four exhausted walkers, emerging from our leg of the Dales Way and we were very relieved to turn up at the Dalesman in Sedbergh. Initially we were booked in to the seperate cottage rather than the hotel. The cottage was not what we expected. It was a little tired and more suited to two or three people than the four of us (there is only one double and one single bed so it meant someone had to sleep on the sofa or floor). However, the staff were brilliant and helped us overcome the problem. We were planning to have fish and chips takeaway but ended up choosing to buy dinner at the Dalesman and I can honestly say that the food was delicious (I had slow cooked Brisket - yummy!). Breakfast the next morning was equally tasty.

The hotel and bar were tastefully decorated, modern but comfortable. The staff were cheerful, efficient and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here or even just popping in for something to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Cottage - don't bother unless there are just two of you. It is worth paying the extra for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and two friends spent a lot of time in here over the course of a weekend. 1 of the group stayed in the hotel and said the room was very good with everything he needed especially at only £50 a night for a double room.

We ate here twice for breakfast and twice for dinner and found all the food to be fantastic. The service was great, the selection of food and drink was impressive and the locals friendly. A real gem

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Dalesman is always consistent with the quality of its food and the preparation but lately the menu has changed and is quite limited - especially in the evening. Suggestion would be to add a pasta dish or two and perhaps a curry, howevr always enjoyble and good atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cng1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We called in for a drink after a days walking in the Dales, the beer was excellent and the menu was looked good, also the ambiance was so good we decided to go back to have our evening meal there. The food was excellent, I had the steak and my partner had the rack of ribs. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we did not stay there I would certainly do so on any future visits to Sedbergh

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
316 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stopped for lunch en route from Scotland to home, but the excellent food and friendly service were good enough to entice us back in the future. We weren't able to eat inside as we had our dog with us, but it was a nice day so we were happy to sit outside - and the lady kindly brought us cushions for the seats. It's rare to find such pristine toilets but if the rooms are as clean as the loos and the pub itself, then we would love to stay in the future. Lovely town, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My son and stayed here overnight having called in on the offchance at 4pm. We were welcomed and shown to rooms which although small were very comfortable and cozy, and great value. The food was first class and good value and the selection of beers very good. Breakfast was all you could want and the service efficient. Would definitely stay again. The only minor down side is the very limited parking available, but it caused us no problems, as the staff knew which car was parked where so could help those "hemmed in".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
0.7 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
32 reviews
13.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Summerhill B&B
Summerhill B&B
#6 of 11 in Sedbergh
26 reviews
8.0 mi away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#3 of 11 in Sedbergh
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalesman Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalesman Country Inn

Property: The Dalesman Country Inn
Address: Main Street, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dalesman Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dalesman Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalesman Country Inn Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing