We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this pub!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dalesman Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this pub!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Me and my husband visited sedbergh for the weekend and chose to have an evening meal in the dalesman, much to our regret. The food was highly overpriced, and not that good for the price we paid. The worst part was that it appeared the owner was sat at the bar drinking and being rather loud, as stated on a previous review, this appears to be a regular occurance! Wouldn't recommend and definitely wouldn't visit again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakeslover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    27
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
80
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Having visited the bar and restaurant about 6 months ago on visiting Sedbergh for the first time, we decided to return and stay over night.
The staff have always been friendly, engaging and helpful. The welcome is outstanding with perfect attention to detail.
The room - number 2 - was a gem with every effort made to offer comfort. It has the wow factor as you walk in.
The food is outstanding - hand on heart I have never tasted a steak like it - cooked to perfection and very succulent.Food and drink is truly of the highest quality.
I can recommend this wonderful gem at the heart of Sedbergh. Go for it and try it for yourselves folks; well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyCTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our second visit to Sedbergh to visit family. Stayed at The Dalesman. Stayed in room 4. Very clean, spacious a great nights sleep, Loved the bath after mountain biking all day. We ate here too, the bar area and restruant were very clean and traditional. staff all were more than helpful it was the first week of the new menu, the waitress told us, Very nice it was too. Thankyou for a wonderful stay and making us feel welcome..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules-mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirsk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

stayed in room 5 as a rather late booking and was warned that it was a small room - which it is but perfect for our needs, the pub was warm and had cosy atmosphere, we didn't eat our evening meal here as were being entertained else where, but the breakfast was excellent.
we will stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

stayed in room five as no other room available (didnt really want to as read reviews)on the first night and we had a choice of rooms on the second night......you get what you pay for,room five is more than fine considering the price of £70 including breakfast,it is small but having stayed in many country inns is value for money and reading the guest book most other people seem to think so too....second night we had the choice and asked to see every room and was both delighted and surprised,but when explained that the difference in rooms reflects the difference in price of what people want to pay this made sense.....we opted for room two and what luxury.....staff were excellent(not sure if they have changed but we were told they hadnt)breakfast of good quality....and the refurbishment is fully noticeable in the bar and restaurant.....didnt eat as we went to friends in kirkby lonsdale....one down fall the car park is small.read the visitors book the establishment and all comments are of the highest praise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here in the beginning of January 2012 and I was made very welcome on my arrival, I was shown to my room by the lady on the bar... She asked if we had stayed before and talked to us about breakfast times and what times they served food that evening. Our room was very nice and up to date, we stayed in room 2 and was very pleased with it. That evening we went down for a meal in the bar area and we ordered a steak and a pizza... They didn't take long to come and they were both fantastic... You could tell the pizza was home made, they tasted great and were a really good size! Overall my stay here was brilliant and would recommend it to anybody and would definitely come back again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRossInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Dalesman this weekend.; We booked room 4 which was bright clean and the bathroom was very modern.; We ate in the resertruant both evenings the food was lovely..;Recommend the pizza,s. Service was very good the lady behind the bar made us feel so welcome. Will surely be back in the summer. What a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules-mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
0.7 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
33 reviews
13.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
8.1 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalesman Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalesman Country Inn

Property: The Dalesman Country Inn
Address: Main Street, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dalesman Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Dalesman Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalesman Country Inn Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing