We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garsdale
Ranked #1 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
1 review
“A Happy New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the The Garsdale for two nights on New Years Eve & Day (although just getting round to writing up a review until now).

We had a splendid couple of days here. The hosts Karen and Pete were great; both helpful and attentive, offering us transport or films etc if we so required, aswell as information or maps for our days out. Generally nothing was too much trouble and was made to feel very welcome.

The rooms were a delightful mix of traditional and modern, with some nice little luxurious touches. The location is also fantastic, as not too far from either Hawes or Sedbergh, but far enough for a great quiet, rural stay. A good base for exploration or nice get-away. The breakfasts were also very hearty and the great way to start the day off.

We are frequent visitors and very familiar with the Dales, and will visit again for sure. We are walking the Dales Way trail for a week in early April, and if Garsdale was on the route it would have been a definite stop-off for us.

Cannot rate highly enough - keep up the good work.

Until next time.

Cheers

Mark

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronHarkonnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
154
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived at 8pm on a very cold and bleak March night but the welcome couldn't have been warmer. Karen showed us to our room which was stylish and very comfortable. The king size bed was a joy to sleep in and the pillows were marvellous - I have a thing about lumpy flat pillows, check out my other reviews!

The bathroom was excellent, there was a multi function shower with rainfall shower head and a choice of toiletries, something to suit everyone. The towels were a bit on the small side for my liking though, I regret not being a size 6 at times!

We had dinner at the pub next door, which had been booked by Karen, the meal was very good and the atmosphere in the pub was great with open fires and soft comfy sofas. It was ladies dominoes night so it was also very noisy!!

Breakfast was excellent with local produce and Karen's own eggs, I mean the ones laid by her hens! Karen makes her own jams and marmalade, delicious! One slight negative, I prefer my eggs poached in water rather than the microwave but that's personal preference.

We enjoyed our stay and will return as we would like to explore the area. It was dark when we arrived and the weather was so awful the next morning we barely saw a thing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here the one night in the family room with my husband. The room was warm, cosy, and spotless. Everything you could possibly need was at hand and the beds are really comfortable.
The breakfast was of local produce, tasty, and cooked perfectly. The only thing I missed was not having fresh fruit and yoghurt available on the breakfast menu, we stay in B & B in the Dales and Lake District regularly and fruit at breakfast is something that I have grown accustomed too, however everything is clearly stated what is available on there website.
We had a lovely meal next door at the Moorcock Inn. Karen's food was also recommended by other couples staying here.
Reasonably priced, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGarsdale, Owner at The Garsdale, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would just like to reply however to your point with the fresh fruit + yoghurt. We do have a very varied menu and due to this the breakfast menu is on 2 pages, therefore overleaf are additional breakfast options which includes fresh fruit + yoghurt. This has always been available on our menu since we opened in 2010 and we include an image of this on our website.
We are very sorry that you did not spot this, we will make a note for the future to emphasize the continued menu overleaf.

We hope to see you again, take care and our very best wishes to you both.
Kindest regards
Peter & Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were booked in for New Year’s Eve but unfortunately the heavy rain from the previous few days put an end to any hope of us reaching it from our position in Aysgarth. We tried 4 different routes but were unable to get through deep floodwater or were turned back by other drivers warning of flooding ahead.

As soon as we were able, we called Karen to let her know of our predicament and although she kindly offered to collect us from Hawes, we couldn’t even make it that far west. We agreed that she should try and re-let the room which unfortunately she wasn’t able to which meant there was no refund on the money we had paid.

This was somewhat disappointing as given the efforts we’d made to get there, we would at least have hoped that the money could have been held for a future visit. Whilst refusing a refund maybe consistent with the terms and conditions in the force majeure circumstances and the season of goodwill we find this miserable customer service miserly and mean without any festive spirit.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGarsdale, Owner at The Garsdale, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Jo,
Thank you very much for your feedback on trip advisor. However we are somewhat disappointed that you have left such a negative review after our conversation on the telephone we feel we were nothing but helpful and tried to assist you with directions and offer of collecting you.
In addition we also offered to refund the monies in full if we managed to re-let the room, when on most occasions this is not offered by other bed and breakfasts in the area.

When you contacted us at 11.45am on the day of your arrival we did say that we would not mind if you came later as guests can arrive any time after 4pm up to 10pm. On that day the Sun decided to come out at 2pm and the roads were all passable from 4pm as our other guests arrived at 4.30pm from Leeds and managed to get through from their walk in Aysgarth Falls with out much problem.

We must admit that we do feel extremely sorry that we did not mention that the money paid could be used as a deposit later in the year if you would have liked to have postponed your visit, this is an oversight on our part and we apologies for this.

The problem we find that with guests making bookings on-line through the Eviivo site is that Eviivo still take the commission even if you do not show for your booking, so to refund the money in full would have left us in deficit for your stay.

Finally we feel it quite unnecessary to call us miserly and mean as without meeting us you could really not make this judgement. We believe that we offer good customer service to all our guests, even down to offering to drive 30 miles round trip to come and get you. We do not know what more we could have done.

We are very sorry that you feel we did not do our best on this occasion to assist you and we will note your comments for the future.

Kindest regards
Peter & Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here whilst walking the Dales High Way and what a find. The attention to detail is what marks this accommodation out from the others. The standard of care and hospitality is truly exceptional. The owners are justifiably proud of what they have achieved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived at the Garsdale after a day's walking and the welcome and the room itself was brilliant, Had booked an evening meal beforehand and i advice anyone staying here to do the same because the food is excellent, i'm only sorry i could only stay the one night, will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

At the end of a long days walking we were met by Peter and transported to the Garsdale where we were met at the door by Karen with the warmest of welcomes, The room was excellent, comfortable and supplied with all the little things you could need or wish for, attention to detail was first class.
Breakfast did not dissapoint either,nor did the packed lunch we requested. Both were superb.This is one B&B we would return to without hesitation. at the end of our stay we were transported back to continue our walk thinking what a fantastic base for a short holiday it would make. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
5.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.0 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#5 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.7 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
13.7 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garsdale

Property: The Garsdale
Address: Garsdale House Near Hawes, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garsdale Bed & Breakfast is set in a quiet Hamlet on the border of the Yorkshire Dales near Hawes & the Cumbrian Lake District near Sedbergh. All rooms have beautiful country & mountain views with a garden & Free car parking area to the rear of the property. We have 3 guest rooms all with en-suite power showers which also include for your convenience, heating/air conditioning, flat screen TV, DVD players, Freesat, alarm clock, vanity kit, sewing kit, toiletries, torch, hair dryer, slippers, Egyptian cotton bathrobes & towels, fridge, kettle & courtesy tray with fresh milk. Free WiFi in all rooms. Our breakfast room can also be used by our guests as a communal lounge area & has a licensed bar with a choice of wines, spirits, beers and lagers. Local maps, DVD's, books & games are also available. Light snacks in the evening are available to pre-order. Outside to the front of the property we have a seating area with bistro tables & chairs & to the rear we have a small paddock, convenient for a few horses. We also provide mountain bike hire, mens, ladies & childrens available with a secure cycle/tack lock up. For guests arriving by train at The Garsdale Station we offer free transport to our bed & breakfast. We also offer a discounted taxi service to Hawes for evening dining for our guests with our own registered taxi service. Walking packages are also available. Our double rooms have beautiful country views, can be arranged as either king-size or twin single beds with en-suite power showers & toiletries. Our suite room also has beautiful country views, has a bedroom and sitting area, can be arranged as either king-size or twin single beds, with additional occupancy on a double sofa bed, also with en-suite power shower & toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Garsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garsdale Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing