We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garsdale
Ranked #1 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can't add much to what other reviewers have said, except to agree with everything. There isn't a thing about this place that merits a single word of disapprobation. Welcome, comfort, food, cleanliness ... it's got the lot. The best B&B we've ever stayed in, bar none.

If you book here you will not be disappointed. We'll certainly be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
154
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at The Garsdale at the start and end of a 4 day walking/cycling tour. We were able to leave our car while we away and our bikes were securely stored in the garage when we returned. Peter provides a great taxi service (which we used to get into Hawes) and the B&B itself is first class - definitely a "luxury" experience. Karen is a fabulous host, making us feel very welcome and providing lots of little extras in the room. The breakfasts are fantastic and we also enjoyed a delicious evening meal - very generous portions and good value. Would definitely recommend a stay at The Garsdale and will be back ourselves at some stage.

Room Tip: The Penine room is advertised as a family room but was great for us as 3 adults sharing - a double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki2712_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

just come back from a great stay away. the b and b was excellant, the facilities top class.
the bedrooms were done to a top class finish, the en suite was excellant with a great power shower, the tv was a high class large flatscreen, with free view and a dvd player.
the room was immaculate, the service we got was very good, extremely friendly and accomodating.
the breakfast was excellant with locally sources high quality sausages and bacon and eggs from the chicken at the end of the garden.
we dined in the pub next door the moorcock and it was excellant.
we were impressed with our stay and will stay again soon
highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedeljko_stoykovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

You never quite know what you're going to get with a B&B in terms of room appointment, decor, comfort, service ... But Garsdale B&B was a wonderful surprise at the end of a long drive!

I can concur with everything described by MazEngland above. Ours was the Pennine Room - the family room which is set out with a double room to the left and twin to the right with each separated by the wonderfully appointed shower (multiple shower head/ jet options and 4 dispensers for shampoo, conditioner, male / female body wash) and toilet. Memory foam pillows and superb bedding make for an excellent nights sleep, and air con is installed should you need it.
The double room also houses the large TV, satellite box and DVD player (Karen offers DVDs in her arrival tour) and extra chairs. There is also a kettle for tea and coffee (copious biscuits and after dinner mints supplied). The hosts have added plenty of very thoughtful touches (like a wooden box containing a fresh razor, tweezers, nail file) and even supply dressing gowns, slippers and body scrubbers.
Full English breakfast, ordered the night before, was lovely and the coffee was freshly ground.

This is definitely a hidden gem as B&Bs go, and we'd certainly recommend it to our friends and family without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request Pennine Room if travelling with kids/teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorcas252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

First of all this is a good B&B with comfortable rooms, well equipped etc with a tasty breakfast and friendly service. One piece of advice would be to give better instructions for guests arriving from the rail station by foot - the website suggests 3 mins but this is in a car! Actually about 20mins down a (very pretty) bridle way. Better to take them up on the lift from the station which we didn't realise they offered! Apart from this a good B&B in a pretty location.

Room Tip: Top floor family room includes two twin beds plus double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy12333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had booked this B & B as myself and my mum were travelling with my 2 children and nephew and required a decent family space which you just cant get in hotels without booking seperate rooms.

The Garsdale had a fabulous family suite upstairs which was fantastically laid out, the room was seperated by the ensuite in the middle so though not completly seperate, gave enough privacy if you like that the children werent disturbed by the tv in the other quarters where we slept. Karen the owner told me there are various different set up options for this room, singles, doubles kingsize etc. Brilliant idea.

The room itself was spotless, furnished beautifully, plenty of cupboard space, a fridge (very handy when travelling with a baby for milk etc), bottled water, a kettle (and LOADS of biscuits and chocs !) flatscreen TV with Freesat, DVD player and a lovely view. The bathroom had a fabulous shower complete with shampoo, conditioner, choice of body washes for both men and women - It was really great. The finish of the rooms, in fact the whole B&B was tasteful, and felt sparkling new.

The location is fairly remote I would say, there is a pub next door which does beautiful food but that is all. There is literally nothing else there, but this wasnt a problem as we were staying there to explore the area.

You order your breakfast the night before, and it was MASSIVE - I didnt need any dinner ! Lots of choice, children were catered for as well. The breakfast room doubles a a small area to sit and have a beer of an evening also. THere is also a small patio area at the front which Im sure would be lovely if you got the weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

just great ,no complaints at all. the little extra's in the room were more than some 5 star hotels supply. evening meal was superb. cannot praise this b/b enough, would not hesitate to reccomend to anyone. karen and peter deserve to do well and i hope they are very successful.

Room Tip: i imagine all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyEddy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
5.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.0 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#5 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.7 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
13.7 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garsdale

Property: The Garsdale
Address: Garsdale House Near Hawes, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garsdale Bed & Breakfast is set in a quiet Hamlet on the border of the Yorkshire Dales near Hawes & the Cumbrian Lake District near Sedbergh. All rooms have beautiful country & mountain views with a garden & Free car parking area to the rear of the property. We have 3 guest rooms all with en-suite power showers which also include for your convenience, heating/air conditioning, flat screen TV, DVD players, Freesat, alarm clock, vanity kit, sewing kit, toiletries, torch, hair dryer, slippers, Egyptian cotton bathrobes & towels, fridge, kettle & courtesy tray with fresh milk. Free WiFi in all rooms. Our breakfast room can also be used by our guests as a communal lounge area & has a licensed bar with a choice of wines, spirits, beers and lagers. Local maps, DVD's, books & games are also available. Light snacks in the evening are available to pre-order. Outside to the front of the property we have a seating area with bistro tables & chairs & to the rear we have a small paddock, convenient for a few horses. We also provide mountain bike hire, mens, ladies & childrens available with a secure cycle/tack lock up. For guests arriving by train at The Garsdale Station we offer free transport to our bed & breakfast. We also offer a discounted taxi service to Hawes for evening dining for our guests with our own registered taxi service. Walking packages are also available. Our double rooms have beautiful country views, can be arranged as either king-size or twin single beds with en-suite power showers & toiletries. Our suite room also has beautiful country views, has a bedroom and sitting area, can be arranged as either king-size or twin single beds, with additional occupancy on a double sofa bed, also with en-suite power shower & toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Garsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garsdale Sedbergh, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing