We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garsdale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Thorns Hall(Sedbergh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cragg Farm(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Tree Hotel(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
242
10
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
10
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb btaxi servicethe pubfriendly hoststhought of everythinggreat hospitalitymemory foam pillowsnice pub next doorsecond to noneblack puddingpacked lunchtrain stationfull englishstayed longerlocal producea lovely place to stayshower room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 259 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Great hosts, lovely rooms, fab food, great location - couldn't have asked for a nicer stay.The one downside? Having to go home!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlCaponesbanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed on Valentines night on a business trip to the area, I usually travel away once a month, so have stayed in a lot of B&B's and hotels. Karen and Peter really can't do enough to make you feel welcome, very friendly without being intrusive. The room was very clean, very comfortable, probably the nicest room I've stayed in, quite luxurious and great value for money. There are temperature controls to avoid the situation of either being too hot or too cold in the room, which often happens! The breakfast was very good, using their own hen's eggs I believe. Having a pub with food and real beer next door is a great bonus. It would definitely be my first choice if I come back to the area again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_thomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Must say we had the most awful weather when visiting The Garsdale but this didn't alter the fact we had a great 4 dnights staying at this great little B&B. The owners were very helpful and friendly and really couldn't do enough for us. Thank you Peter and Karen.

The accommodation was of a very high standard and there was nothing I could fault really. Apart from now being on a diet after having a full english breakfast each morning.....mmmmmm. There was also a super fast free wifi connection.

We ate one evening here also, it was all prepped fresh that day and was very tasty and huge portions.

Theres a pub next door, the Moorcock Inn, which keeps a very good pint of real ale and the Landlady and her family made us feel really welcome when the weather outside was dreadful.

So all in all a great place to stay. We'll be back for sure when the weather gets a bit better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My partner and i have just spent a couple of days in the Dales, and what a fantastic couple of days we had.
It was made all the better by the fantastic hospitality of Karen and Peter and, their wonderful B&B.
It really is a luxury establishment, and the attention to detail is nothing short of amazing. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the bathroom and shower were spotlessly clean, in fact we simply couldn't find fault at all.
We will most certainly return and would have no hesitation in recommending to family or friends.

Sean and Sarah.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My husband and daughter were completing a C2C cycle ride and we stayed here for 1 night on route - I wish it had been longer.
It was easy to book online and we received a very prompt response to our mails.
The accommodation - we were in a family room which consisted of 1 room that felt like 2 because it was separated by a luxury bathroom with the best shower ever! Luxury included bathrobes for everyone, top quality toiletries and lovely fluffy towels and the beds - memory foam pillows and crisp, clean bed linen.
Nothing was too much trouble for this family and a very warm welcome awaited us even though we arrived a little earlier than expected. A pot of tea arrived - most welcome!
Genuinely Peter and Karen cared about ensuring every guest felt special.
Breakfast was cooked to order with fresh eggs from the chickens.
We ate dinner at the pub next door, which was lovely (although not as welcoming as our lovely B&B). Peter offered a taxi service to the nearest town if we wanted to venture further afield, or you could relax in the small bar area where a TV and games were available.
Even my daughter (aged 16) loved the place and enjoyed meeting Sky (peter and Karen's daughter)
I wish we had stayed longer, and almost regret writing such a good review as next time we want to stay it will surely be fully booked .....
Thank you Karen and Peter for creating a true luxury B&B

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajn071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews