We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location to get away from it all”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarrieAnn...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
“Stunning location to get away from it all”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed at Knott View as part of a group to celebrate a friend's birthday. We wanted a retreat away from it all where we could spend some quality time together, and it fit the bill perfectly! Everything we needed was available, the setting is just gorgeous and we were even treated to snow! Will definitely stay again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experienc...
1 review
“Idyllic holiday”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What can I say? Knott view was perfect for our long weekend stay for walking and exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Close to Cautley spout and surrounded by absolutely breathtaking views, Birks Farm is the ideal location for any keen walker, or those just looking to get away to the countryside.

Knott had everything we needed for our stay; spotlessly clean and tidy, Knott View had a real homely feel. Lilly and Alan were so very welcoming, and it was lovely to stay on a working farm, seeing all the lambs in the field, watching the turkeys pottering round the yard, or just spending some time with their two sheepdogs.

Knott was the perfect size for our family, but, having been shown around Brant and the newly refurbished Lodge on site, I absolutely would recommend any three of Lilly and Alans holiday lets for a stay.

Will definitely be back soon! Highly recommended all round, and a thoroughly enjoyable break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous views peach and quite”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location with fabulous views of the Howgills. Clean and comfortable cottage everything we needed, loved the sheep dogs on the farm just what we needed to de-stress.
Will be booking later on in the year when the lambs arrive

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My second time back at Knott View cottage and it was just as good as my previous visit! Stayed with a friend for 2 weeks and would definitely go back. The cottage was clean, homely and well-equipped for self-catering. The owners were very friendly and helpful with any queries we had. There are stunning views of the Yorkshire Dales and beautiful walks to enjoy the wildlife and lambs at lambing time! We would highly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing escape!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donna6567
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed January 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with a couple of friends, what a dump, No heating only oil heaters that you had to move around, the most dirtiest baked on food on all the saucepans and frying pan.
The dead spiders and flies had been on floor for a long time.
We like dogs but do not want them barking for the whole of your holiday.
We saw dead sheep and carcass everytime we drove out of the cottage.
I am not sure of the previous reviews BUT they do not sound like it was the same cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbie201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage in a brilliant location”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage in the middle of stunning countryside..Went with two 5yr olds and there was plenty of things to go to within a 45min drive of the cottage. Also walks in the surrounding area can be done from the front door of the cottage. The farm itself was child friendly, the kids particularly loved playing with the dogs. We are planning to go back again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts
Liked least: No local shops
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltoniaL...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Idyllic retrest.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This holiday was different from what we normally do,but it was fantastic. We went with our son and daughter in law. What a lovely clean,comfortable,cottage,and Lily and Alan the owners were very friendly and obliging. We visited loads of the attractions in the area,and what beautiful countryside it is. The views from the cottage were beautiful as well. We can,t
sign off without a mention of Benny,Jess and Pip.the lovely 3 collin dogs. We would recommend this place to anyone. Maggie and Vince and Kev. and Ali.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing