We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great on a sunny day after rain

Park by the Cross Keys Temperance Inn ( no alcohol but great food) and cross over footbridge and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Terence H
,
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Amazing but out of the way

Incredible views, take your best camera, lots of water and lots of energy! It's a beautiful walk... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jason A
,
Bingley, United Kingdom
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
31
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross keys great walk lake district steep climb sunny day big steps an easy walk above ground calf howgills path hike walkers inn miles scenery settlement
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 43 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

Nice walk in a lovely area easily accessible from a road and parking a few miles away. Dogs are permitted but to be kept on a lead due to sheep grazing

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Visited on a warm and sunny day in Aug and the scenery along the walk got more and more stunning the higher we climbed. It starts of as an easy walk but gets more challenging as you get to the highest parts with big steps cut out of the side of the falls and as we were with our children we didn't want to risk any nasty slips or falls so decided to go back down after about 3/4 of the way up. The views of the untouched surrounding countryside were amazing and beautiful and it was very peaceful as we only met a handful of other people along the way. Would love to visit again!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Kawaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

We took a hike up to the spout on a snowy day that got snowier and snowier. A good round trip from Sedbergh that took an age due to weather and I don’t think we got the drama of the hills due to the drama of the snow - not for the faint hearted in those conditions! Would like to return in Summer.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank ehutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

I have been here walking many times as I am very lucky to live only 10 minutes drive away.
A perfect place for a relaxing walk, a picnic, a place just escape from everyday life, breathtaking scenery.
Make sure you hike high up the fell to appreciate this wonderful place and to witness for your own eyes the spectacular views.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank kennethbussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

I would t advise anybody with heart problems or mobility issues to do this walk . It was very steep lots of big steps but I loved it as did my hubby and dog .
We went mid week so it was quieter but still lots of folk so no good for a romantic walk alone .
Great for kids as long as they are up for the walk!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews