We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Brilliant walk

An excellent walk with good paths around and to the waterfall. Climbed to the top of the waterfall... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Tallis
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Great on a sunny day after rain

Park by the Cross Keys Temperance Inn ( no alcohol but great food) and cross over footbridge and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Terence H
,
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
32
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
32
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cross keys great walk lake district sunny day steep climb big steps temperance inn an easy walk well worth the effort above ground all ages calf path howgills hike walkers miles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 44 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

I have been here walking many times as I am very lucky to live only 10 minutes drive away.
A perfect place for a relaxing walk, a picnic, a place just escape from everyday life, breathtaking scenery.
Make sure you hike high up the fell to appreciate this wonderful place and to witness for your own eyes the spectacular views.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank kennethbussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

I would t advise anybody with heart problems or mobility issues to do this walk . It was very steep lots of big steps but I loved it as did my hubby and dog .
We went mid week so it was quieter but still lots of folk so no good for a romantic walk alone .
Great for kids as long as they are up for the walk!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We walked to the waterfall on a wet December Sunday.
The path was well marked and felt safe.
As regular walkers, we were surprised how quickly we got out of breath on this short walk.
Would like to return on a sunny day.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 1StevieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

This waterfall is a real gem.The scenery all around the area is iconic.You do need to visit on a clear day to get the best of the views.
The views and scenery really epitomised England's Green and pleasent land.
We intend to return as there had been rain the previous evening which meant the circular route which we could have taken from the Tempest pub to the waterfall was in flood.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

I had never heard of Cautlry Spout and if it wasn't for my guide book i would have drive dtraight past it. It's just a trail off the side of the road but well worth it for a nice walk and a chance to see England's highest waterfall above ground at around 650 feet tall!

We had fun paddling in the river at the bottom and walking up to see the beautiful views. Worth a stop for a couple of hours of fun!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Herps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews