We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful 2 night break, perfect from the very warm welcome from Sue and Viv, to the lovely comfortable bedrooms (with tea making facilities with lots of milk pots), to the tasty full English breakfast. As we were climbing Scarfell Pike, they happily accommodated us with an early breakfast on our first morning. Nothing seemed to much trouble. Also the cosy lounge and honesty bar was the perfect area to relax and chat to other guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooked the garden with king size bed
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Muncaster Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

The facilities are excellent with a high standard of cleanliness. The hosts are very friendly and were especially helpful in guiding me to the best places to visit in the location.

Fab breakfast with real scrambled eggs (not microwaved!!)

Good parking space.

Good location to visit Ravenglass, Muncaster Castle & Gardens and the Eskdale Railway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for the first leg of long cycle ride, the was a big shed to store the bikes, room was clean comfy and hosts were really pleasant and friendly. There was an honesty bar and a nice area to watch TV/Read chill out. Shower was clean and hot. Breakfast was served early as we needed to head off and the portions were great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlit0Brigante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arrived a couple of hours before check-in, but were warmly welcomed in and shown to a very clean and comfortable double room with en-suite facilities and lovely view over the back garden and fields. There was a cosy lounge, full of books, magazines and a small bar, and a wood burning stove which was very welcoming. Breakfast was tasty and well presented, in a room next to their lovely garden. The location was excellent for walking, cycling and exploring, and we would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here a few times, once on my birthday September last year, booked another b&b but when we arrived the place shut down! so muncaster came to the rescue ! wish we had booked that first, lovely,clean, very friendly staff, roaring log burner and to top it all a little bar in the lounge which stocked everything you could want.Stayed again in the October in the annexe which had a little kitchen! it was great! very cosy I could live in it, will be returning and would fully recommend. Thankyou x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I didn't stay here but I did find that this business is run by extremely kind people when I had to stop on the lay-by opposite with car trouble and was waiting for the A.A. to arrive.

While I was waiting for the A.A. and obviously having trouble, the kind people from Mucaster Country Guest House came out ans asked about the problem, whether help was on the way, and would l like them to bring out a cup of tea or coffee.

Which I did and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a friend's wedding at the castle and it is one of the best Guest Houses we have ever stayed it.

I can not compliment the hosts enough (I apologise as I have forgotten their names) every detail was there. They were very informative about the castle and the area and other local attractions. They have some great advice i.e. drive to the castle and put your walking boots in the car for the walk back!) It was about 10-15 mins walk but the location makes it worth every minute.

The room was gorgeous, it had a great homely atmosphere to the place, very clean and the breakfast was incredible.

If we are ever in the area again we will be certain to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fullmoon_272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
357 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
574 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster Country Guest House

Address: Muncaster, Ravenglass CA18 1RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: $39 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully and sympathetically converted schoolhouse providing 8 ground floor bedrooms. Ample secure parking for 15 cars is provided. Most rooms en suite with TVs, hairdriers and tea or coffee making facilities. Free WiFi. Evening meals by arrangement. Licenced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muncaster Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster Country Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing