We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and memorable stay”
Review of The Pennington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pennington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Everyone we interacted with was inviting, helpful and friendly. Our family room was clean, bright and spacious. Although our family room didn't have a view of the estuary, my mother's room did and the view was incredible. The view from the front of the hotel is amazing and we were lucky to enjoy two nights with beautiful sunsets. We dined in the restaurant both nights of our stay and also had breakfast there. The food was fresh, well prepared and delicious. They even made honey mustard for my 11 year old son at his request. I would highly recommend this hotel and their restaurant. We hope to return again as this was the highlight of our weeklong trip across England.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 363 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is locally run on very professional lines. The rooms are of a good standard and the local staff very good. The food is good although the range of meats is often limited, and the restaurant service is sometimes not quite on the mark. The village setting of Ravenglass is just amazing even in a winter storm.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at the Pennington for 2 nights in May, a last minute booking, with no knowledge of the hotel but a liking for Ravenglass, a tiny seaside village with an 'end of the earth' feel to it. We had a good room at the hotel (room 8) with a lovely view of the estuary - boats, blue sky, and a sense of peace. The staff were excellent - friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We ate on both nights and the food is excellent - our lamb, baby beets and baby broadbeans, creamed potato and salsa verde was one of the nicest I've had recently. Portions not big, but ideal for us, with room for the delicious sticky toffee pudding.
I would recommend to others and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Room 8 has an estuary view, and friends have stayed in room 3 (I think) which also has a good estuar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudeG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

ok, right from entering this hotel was started badly. Had to go and find someone to check us in as both the reception and back office/dumping ground were unmanned - nice welcoming touch - NOT
We were finally checked into the bridal suite aka room 18 - it was hot and with no windows open or that we could open was very stuffy (we found out at check out the window did open....)
There was a layer of dust on the tea facilities, nice touch!
The previous guest has left items in the bathroom.....
The bedding felt as if it was of inferior quality and not as expected from such a 'magnificent' hotel, we found out later that they use good old argos bedding!
The prices of the food were a bit high and by now our expectations were dwindling. So we chose to eat out.
Breakfast the following morning..... Hmmmmm as i suffer with migraines i can only drink decaffeinated coffee. This i asked for and was brought in a cafetiere. When i tried to push the plunger down i couldn't so my other half did but as it was too full hot coffee was split all over... Nice health and safety risk....
I opted for a full english with poached egg. When it was grought out it was a fried egg which was changed (my breakfast was served to another guest while i had to wait for more to be cooked) i told my partner just to eat his as otherwise it would be cold.
Had very high expectations of this hotel but overall was very substandard, alex polizzi would not be impressed!
However on checking out the opps mgr was informed of our unpleasant findings and did offer a reduction hext time we come, sorry too little far too late will not be returning

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I had high hopes of the Pennington. Unfortunately these were far from fulfilled.
I didn't once see a member of staff at the reception desk, and looking into the back office, there were no staff to be seen, just a random selection of dumped bric-a-brac. The bedroom was no more than adequate, and hadn't been properly cleaned as there were previous guests belongings in the bathroom, along with cracked tiles and mould. The bedroom was stuffy and had a nice layer of dust on numerous surfaces. Not impressed

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoasterGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig l, General Manager at The Pennington, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you find it appropriate to rate our hotel as "terrible" I am very sorry that you found the hotel underwhelming. I do not think the standards that we usually aspire to and achieve are reflective in you awarding the hotels second ever "terrible" rating. We note your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and I assure you we will be discussing this with our usually excellent housekeeping team. I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to exceed your expectations, I hope that in time you will visit us again and see how good we really are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have spent six nights at The Penningtoin. On Monday night a lightening strike took out the power to Ravenglass. The staff were very caring and kept the british spirit going even though there was no hot food or water for the evening Bryony was an absolute star and couldn't do enough for everyone. She provided a quality service and put a smile on everyone's face.
The room was wonderful with luxury usually associated with a higher rated hotel.
Geoff was the first person we saw on Monday morning. He is a larger than life character with a lovely engaging manner. His customer service was first class and always on a professional level. He made our stay albeit on business a very pleasurable one. Kate the manageress helped with the running of the hotel and was not afraid of rolling her sleeves up to help with chores in the kitchen and elsewhere. Would we go back..? You bet.

Room Tip: Room 11 was where we returned to and it is lovely with a big bathroom.. The bedroom faces the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig l, General Manager at The Pennington, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel. I will pass these on to our excellent team, look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Other reviewers have correctly described the overall hotel - great location just a few steps from the estuary and within five minutes walk of the main railway and Ravenglass and Eskale live. The restaurant does a good and varied breakfast and the evening menu is sound and well-presented. An ideal location to explore Eskdale and Wast Water.

Room Tip: Obviously point, but rooms away from the front of the hotel are quieter (not that anywhere in Raveng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CupCaketheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
18.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,154 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennington

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Price Range: $108 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pennington 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pennington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
The Pennington Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing