We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in a great spot”
Review of The Pennington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pennington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in a great spot”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We enjoyed our short break in the Pennington, which has had a lot of money spent refurbishing it. Our bedroom had a great view over the estuary and was roomy and comfortable, although it lacked a fridge. Bar food and restaurant food was good, and service was friendly although occasionally a little hit and miss. The small village is a pretty spot on the coast, and the Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway and mainline railway stations only a short distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Estuary view rooms are worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    106
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
188
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we booked this hotel via a KGB deal - we had to cancel our original booking and the staff were very accomodating as slotting us in before the voucher expired.
we booked the bank holiday 2-nite w.end 26-27 august 2012
unfortunately when we arrived (accompanied with our dog) - the duty manager Debs had to advise us that due to rain water penetration the previous day - our courtyard room was not habitable - my immediate thought was - OMG where else can we stay on a bank hol w.end with a 4-legged friend? - and i didnt fancy a return 3hr drive back up north.
i shouldnt have worried as Debs has already resolved this with an option of 2 other accomodations - the first was unsuitable - but we accepted the offer of accomodation at Muncaster Castle for our first night. we spent the next night at the Pennington
Debs could not have been more apologetic and arranged for us to have lunch while the alternative accom was prepared.
i have to commend the staff at both accomodations for their helpfulness and willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we were inconvenienced as little as possible. i also have to say the facilities and breakfasts in both were v.good in each

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had the bridal suite (although we'll be celebrating our 48th year shortly), the view was superb, the room very good and the en-suite magnificent.

Overall the hotel was excellent and the food in the resaurant good.

The staff were very helpful and a last minute (as we were ordering our meal) request for a birthday cake for our granddaughter was dealt with without batting an eyelid.

Room Tip: The bridal suite if possible, for the view alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Enjoyed a break in the area this Bank Holiday and travelled by train! First was Whitehaven the Rum Story and the Beacon and then back on this coastal route through St Bees (will stop there next time) and on to Ravenglass. Took time to admire the Ratty Railway and travelled to Boot and return followed by a leisurely stroll on to Muncaster Castle. By this time I was in need of sustinance. Arrived at Pennington Restaurant and greeted, very promptly taken through to my table. Disappointed that the restaurant now has a carpet and doesn't look as it does on the website. Somehow this spoiled the character ? There were three for dinner and we unfortunately acquired a table in the kitchen door and also by the restaurant door. Perhaps this could be addressed as there is ample room in the restaurant for this area not to be used as a table. The meal. Recommend the scallops (miniscule supplement) disappointed by the salmon and crab starter with gazpacho - an ill conceived dish that really doesn't work (tomatoes on top still frozen). Mains:Pork and Duck dishes delicious reflecting the ability of the chef. Excellent desserts. The Pennington is a charming place, on the whole the food is of very high quality and the location is superb. The key here is the odd items on the menu that are not quite there yet: like the fish (main) from a previous experience. Would I recommend the Pennington..yes I would

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

quite a surprise when we got to Ravenglass it is a lovely little village.
Our family room had a separate room with 2 single beds for the kids which is always nice.
Super room with wood beams very nice indeed. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.
As for the restaurant ! menu looked great and with a price of £28.95 for 4 courses we expected a good meal. I had the Turbot with mussel chowder. Took one bite of a mussel and it was like horrible powder totally inedible. Fish was also bland. The desert was 3 types of apple, ice cream which was nice tart tatin bland and apple brulee which was stodgy and basically inedible.
They had four staff on between the bar and restaurant but we seldom saw any of them. Serving took ages and more than half an hour to clear the mains. Waiter sspoke to the chef who said the mussels were frozen from a new supplier and agreed they were terrible. They also through away all the apple brulees. Must be the worst meal i have had for years and at that price ! They finally did not charge for my meal after initially offering half price on the next nights food but we decided to eat at the friendly little pub next door which has ok food (massive portions) and great real ales.
They made an effort to make everything look good but the quality of the actual food was awfull. My kids eat from the bar menu which looked a lot better. Service also seemed much better in the bar as all the staff were hanging around there which seems weird as they are trying to get £28.95 in the restaurant but bar meals were only around £10. My advice avoid the restaurant eat in the bar

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

By boyfriend took me to the hotel for a 2 night stay. I have to say it was a lovely hotel. The village is very small but there is a very nice pub where we ate on our first night. We went on the steamtrain on our second day, where my boyfriend proposed to me, so it was a lovely day and we didn't think anything could take the egde of our lovely mini break.

Until we went for our evening meal in the Pennington Restaurant......the duty manager was very rude, i had to ask several times for the empty glasses to be cleared from the table. We weren;t offered any of the chef's specials, even though the tables surrounding us were. Half an hour after we had finished our starters I had to (again) ask for the table to be cleared, as a result our main courses had clearly been sitting under the kitchen lights for some time.

I wish that I could say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but unfortuately our engagement meal was so disappointing because of the terrible level of service that we recieved, I would be very hesitant about suggesting the hotel to anyone.

It's a real shame as we would have like to go back to the hotel for our anniversary, just before we get marrried, however we have decided that we will celebrate elsewhere in future........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived last Sunday night having though we had booked a family room through a well known web site. When we were taken to th e room it was a double but the staff were quick to alter this and offer the adjoining room for the children. We spent a lovely afternoon at Muncaster Castle and we came back to have a walk around the village and for the children to have a fun time on the beach until it started to rain.
We quite early from the varied bar menu and retired as we had been up from 6am that morning. We watched a little TV and found biscuits on the tea tray as a little unexpected extra for supper. Breakfast was devine and hot toast was delivered to the table with the other hot items which pleased even our very punney son. The waiter even gave us advice on the best way to plan our onward journey. On check out we were most shocked to find we were still only charged the amount that had been quoted as we had expected to be charged more.
This is a beautiful hotel in a quirky stunning village where people seem to be prepared to go just the extra mile which is so rare these days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty3972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
18.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
340 reviews
21.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
4.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennington

Property: The Pennington
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pennington 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Pennington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
The Pennington Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing