We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excavations in hand”
Review of Roman Bath-house

Roman Bath-house
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.17*
and up
Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway: Ride All Day Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excavations in hand”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The visit was made even more interesting by having the opportunity of looking at archaeological work in progress on the adjoining field

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mayso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    54
    37
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressive ruins”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The bath house gives an idea of the size and importance of Ravenglass in Roman days. While we were there an archaeological dig was taking place nearby looking for the Roman civilian settlement. A young lady from the Lakes District National Park chatted with us and was very informative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdelaidePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic site”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice stroll to the ruins very disappointing once we arrived not much to look at, not worth a walk up to just for that, ok if it's on your route. Would be better if there was more information about the original building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited in early August with my fiancée and we were impressed with these tall, well-preserved remains. The tallest Roman remains in the UK and worth seeing. Happily free and with interpretations boards, think there's more that English Heritage could do with signposting and explaining what's what.

We followed the wooden path signs but gave up on the path and moved together private road (not supposed though!), the path was overgrown. Once you head up the road/path you've just got to keep going and then you can't miss the remains at the side of the road but seriously BEWARE OF VERY FAST TRAFFIC on the private road!! Couple of characters flying around in cars and land rovers.

The remains are brilliant, you can fully walk around them, they're small but tall. They are part of a much larger unexcavated Roman fort complex. It's worth checking out the English Heritage page for the bath house as it has some great images and reconstructions of the bath house as well as more background information. Well worth a visit, we were scared we would only find an outline of the bath house chalked on the floor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank captaincookYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oldest Roman Bath house”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was told it is the oldest Roman bath house in England, it is in reasonable condition for it's age we came across it by accident as we were walking the dog

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ranger58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Bath-house also viewed

 
Ravenglass, Lake District
Wasdale Head, Cumbria
 

Been to Roman Bath-house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing