We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Currently being refitted, but a nice choice of ales on offer. Rather grand ladie's loos, complete with bread ovens! Also had a roaring fire in the bar on the night we called in and a very laid-back feel.

Room Tip: Currently not a hotel, I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tegels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited Ravenglass, with my wife, over the weekend and popped into the Holly House during the afternoon. We realized straight away that new people were running it.
It's been newly decorated and was very clean. There were three real ales on and I had a pint of Coniston Bluebird bitter which was excellent.
Talking to the landlady we found out that there are big plans for the place over the next twelve months - putting on food and renovating the rooms for accommodation (apparently the last tenant left the place in a right mess). One room which has been renovated is the lady's toilets and, if your a man, it's worth asking if you can take a look. A little bit of history in there!
Ravenglass is an idyllic place with wonderful sunsets and the Holly is ideally situated to view them. I look forward to visiting again and will probably stay there when the rooms are ready.

Room Tip: No rooms yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Called in on a Saturday mostly to shelter from the weather. Owner quite happy for us to dry out by the fire even in August. Very welcoming enjoyed a few beers before venturing out into the wild again once it had all calmed down.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeteLancUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stumbled across this waterfront gem whilst visiting Ravenglass with friends recently. Sheltering from the torrential rain, we were warmly welcomed and dried off by the fire in friendly surroundings. Although only a small bar, the new landlady kept a number of fine local real ales (and kept them very well) and explained some exciting plans for the future. It is clear from some of the reviews below that there had been some problems at the Holly House under previous management but from my experience recently these are all in the past. Rooms and kitchens are being refurbished soon and the great start made with the bar bode well for the future. I look forward to visiting again soon, and would certianly recommend it for the best pint and friendliest welcome in Ravenglass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DafyddRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a manic run in the howling gales on the coast, myself and about a dozen others headed for the first shelter we could find and ended up in the Holly house hotel. Dripping, heavily. Luckily, the flagged floor wasn't going to absorb any of this, and we were welcomed in by the land lady. The woord burner in the main room was fired up and various clothing was hung up to drip and dry, giving us good reason to drink from the several cask ales on the bar for a few hours, with visting and passing locals, pets and families.
An awesome little pub, beer was faultless, very welcoming staff and (probably when it's not blowing a hoolie) a stunning view out the window. Far better than the other venues in Ravenglass which we frequented that day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped in with friends on a very wet Saturday. Very welcoming owner who let us hang our jackets around the fire to dry out and gave us a tour around the premises (ladies toilets have to be seen to be believed!). Bar has a great atmosphere, overlooks the estuary which looked amazing even in the rain, open fire and great selection of real ale. Will be back, especially if you get that micro brewery in!

Room Tip: Didn't stay - sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I popped into the pub as I'd heard that it had reopened and was surprised to find that all real ale was 'off'.The manager was away on a break, which was quite surprising as this was the first weekend after reopening.

The staff had no idea how to handle the beer, so it was simply taken off. Very very poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ravenglass hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Property: Holly House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing