We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Currently being refitted, but a nice choice of ales on offer. Rather grand ladie's loos, complete with bread ovens! Also had a roaring fire in the bar on the night we called in and a very laid-back feel.

Room Tip: Currently not a hotel, I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tegels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited Ravenglass, with my wife, over the weekend and popped into the Holly House during the afternoon. We realized straight away that new people were running it.
It's been newly decorated and was very clean. There were three real ales on and I had a pint of Coniston Bluebird bitter which was excellent.
Talking to the landlady we found out that there are big plans for the place over the next twelve months - putting on food and renovating the rooms for accommodation (apparently the last tenant left the place in a right mess). One room which has been renovated is the lady's toilets and, if your a man, it's worth asking if you can take a look. A little bit of history in there!
Ravenglass is an idyllic place with wonderful sunsets and the Holly is ideally situated to view them. I look forward to visiting again and will probably stay there when the rooms are ready.

Room Tip: No rooms yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Called in on a Saturday mostly to shelter from the weather. Owner quite happy for us to dry out by the fire even in August. Very welcoming enjoyed a few beers before venturing out into the wild again once it had all calmed down.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank PeteLancUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stumbled across this waterfront gem whilst visiting Ravenglass with friends recently. Sheltering from the torrential rain, we were warmly welcomed and dried off by the fire in friendly surroundings. Although only a small bar, the new landlady kept a number of fine local real ales (and kept them very well) and explained some exciting plans for the future. It is clear from some of the reviews below that there had been some problems at the Holly House under previous management but from my experience recently these are all in the past. Rooms and kitchens are being refurbished soon and the great start made with the bar bode well for the future. I look forward to visiting again soon, and would certianly recommend it for the best pint and friendliest welcome in Ravenglass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DafyddRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a manic run in the howling gales on the coast, myself and about a dozen others headed for the first shelter we could find and ended up in the Holly house hotel. Dripping, heavily. Luckily, the flagged floor wasn't going to absorb any of this, and we were welcomed in by the land lady. The woord burner in the main room was fired up and various clothing was hung up to drip and dry, giving us good reason to drink from the several cask ales on the bar for a few hours, with visting and passing locals, pets and families.
An awesome little pub, beer was faultless, very welcoming staff and (probably when it's not blowing a hoolie) a stunning view out the window. Far better than the other venues in Ravenglass which we frequented that day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped in with friends on a very wet Saturday. Very welcoming owner who let us hang our jackets around the fire to dry out and gave us a tour around the premises (ladies toilets have to be seen to be believed!). Bar has a great atmosphere, overlooks the estuary which looked amazing even in the rain, open fire and great selection of real ale. Will be back, especially if you get that micro brewery in!

Room Tip: Didn't stay - sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I popped into the pub as I'd heard that it had reopened and was surprised to find that all real ale was 'off'.The manager was away on a break, which was quite surprising as this was the first weekend after reopening.

The staff had no idea how to handle the beer, so it was simply taken off. Very very poor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
0.1 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing