We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar, great beer (impressive ladies toilets!)”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great bar, great beer (impressive ladies toilets!)”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped in with friends on a very wet Saturday. Very welcoming owner who let us hang our jackets around the fire to dry out and gave us a tour around the premises (ladies toilets have to be seen to be believed!). Bar has a great atmosphere, overlooks the estuary which looked amazing even in the rain, open fire and great selection of real ale. Will be back, especially if you get that micro brewery in!

Room Tip: Didn't stay - sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I popped into the pub as I'd heard that it had reopened and was surprised to find that all real ale was 'off'.The manager was away on a break, which was quite surprising as this was the first weekend after reopening.

The staff had no idea how to handle the beer, so it was simply taken off. Very very poor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ravenglass hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Holly House is blessed with a fantastic view over the Ravenglass estuary and the dunes beyond - some of the finest sunsets can be watched whilst sipping a pint. least that was the case until it closed.
Fortunately, The Holly House has been revived and is open as a pub - the premises is now part of the Pennington Hotel group and the letting rooms look as if they are destined as staff quarters. The whole place has been given a respectable makeover and the ladies toilets are a surprise - go and see! Six real ales on the bar; three Robinsons; but there will always be guest beers and the quality was spot on. Hesket Newmarket brewery were supplying all three guests as an opener - well done the cellarman.

Staff, friendly and very proud of their ne pub. It will take a little time to get an atmosphere; there is still work to be done outside, so there are currently no seats, but I am assured this is only whilst building work continues.

All in all it is very good news to see the place open again.

No food service as yet - but that is to come. A step by step return to full service.

Just glad to see it happening.

Well done Iona Frost Pennington.

Room Tip: Posted this TA specifically to highlight the pub reopening; but no rooms at Holly House. old website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordArchaeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

On my last visit to Ravenglass, I stopped here for a quick snack and a pint before the long train journey home. Friendly atmosphere, decent price for food and drink. Not amazing to look at on the inside and it's shown its age but perhaps that's the charm of the local village pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Holly House has a magnificent situation on the seafront at Ravenglass. Sitting outside on a sunny autumn day with a pint in the hand is a very pleasant way of spending ones time. Inside the atmosphere is warm and inviting; the beers are well kept; four real ales on when I called. TheLoweswater Gold was superb. there was a good crowd of locals in. There is aTV in the upper part of the bat, but it is not intrusive.

Great beer, friendly hsopitable hosts and good pub grub; hearty portions for autumn days.

The Holly House tenants are coming to the end of their tenure and the lanlord the Pennington family want it back.

This is a great shame; the village of Ravenglass already has one pub controlled by the Penningtons and what happens to comeptition and variety when one 'company' ends up controlling the whole show - the answer is there isn't any.

The Holly is pretty unique in the fact you can walk in with boots on; or straight off your yacht with waterproofs; it is, at its heart, the village pub. It is very sad to think it will be smothered.

Enjoy the Holly whilst you may. Especially the Loweswater Gold!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffordArchaeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and I are keen motorcyclists and stayed at the Holly House for two nights last week . It's a no frills budget hotel which includes a wonderful cooked breakfast each day . The owners are very friendly and made us feel very welcome . A fine range of local beers and some amazing food at very reasonable prices . Would Definately stay there again !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney25uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great welcome from landlord locals very friendly,we did not stay here but had a meal and a few beers. If wanting a friendly pub call in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAYNELancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Property: Holly House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing