We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad manners”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“bad manners”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

i have never felt more compelled to leave a review of any where as i did for the this place, i was not expecting a gourmet meal as we had been out for some fab meals all week and as this was our last night just wanted some basic pub grub, the pub was busy and obviously full of locals which we took as a good sign, but we were the only ones eating so they were not rushed off their feet in the kitchen. the first item i ordered was not available and having to make a second choice i asked if the pie was home made and was told very defiantly, everything was home made. i was accompanied by three others and 2 were very satisfied with their food, one having gammon and the other scampi, my friend had the curry and it was awful and inedible and my home made pie had just been warmed in the microwave, but if there is one thing that annoys me more than bad food, its bad service and when we complained, the cook{and i call her that very loosely} came out and could not accept the critisism and said she had never in all her time there had a complaint, and then went into the kitchen crying, no effort was made to put things right and to be honest i felt the staff were fairly arrogant and aggresive. so 2 out of the 4 meals were inedible and were left and when i went to pay i gave him a chance to redeem himsdelf and asked him to reduce the bill and was told NO as we we had talked about leaving him some negative feedback on here, so here it is, just what you were expecting, and i wouldnt have done this if you had made an effort to put things right. If you work in customer services then you need to learn a few more manners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonfitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the loclas choice of the pubs in Ravenglass which speaks volumes. The bar is ram-jam full of character with it's central roaring log fire. No pretentiousness here - just a down to earth no-nonsense bar with several real ales and a good selection of pub grub which they knock out at a fiver a go.

I didn't eat a main meal here but from what I saw of it the food was damned good value at £5.

Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We visit Ravenglass a lot and stay in the village. The food at the Holly House is second to none. John and Rachel are pleasant and chatty. Sam is a 'winner' too. Beautiful views and good ale.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaycrazy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Great Ales on tap. Hearty bar food in good quantity. Set in a very pretty location. John the Landlord looked after our party very, very well. He went beyond the call of duty and it was very appreciated. My room was basic, but clean and tidy. The 'full english' for breakfast was great. Filled me up until the evening meal.

This pub is not a luxury destination, but for the budget traveller, it is a great place to stay. I heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed in the Holly House Hotel 20-22 May as part of a group it has a good atmosphere, good food,and you are made very welcome it carrys a good selection of real ales as it is also a local pub the views across the estuary are stunning the room is a little small for me but clean TV that works and ample tea and coffee and warm and comfortable this is the third time i have stayed at the Holly House and the standards are constantly high.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My room was ensuite with a great shower and pleasant decor. a perfect place after a day's riding. Great village too, don't miss the Steam engines!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanClimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I've just had a weekend in the Lakes with a motorbike touring group. We used the Holly House as our base. It was a fantastic experience all around. The location with the estuary out the front door was superb. What made the trip complete was the friendly relaxed atmosphere here. We were treated to a fantastic full English to start the day. After a full days touring, it was so nice to be welcomed back at the end of the day. The Pub had a nice chilled out friendly atmosphere with some good Ales on tab. The evening Pub meal was great as well. The accomodation was basic but clean and tidy. It may not be 4 star, but for the budget traveller, I'd highly give this place 2 thumbs up.
Bob (from Boston)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmac_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Property: Holly House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing