We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional comfort and delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional comfort and delightful”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have visited several times now as this B & B is the best we have ever stayed in. It is beautifully kept and delightfully furnished. Elaine and Mike do a wonderful breakfast and clearly make every effort to ensure their guests have a first rate experience in this lovely village.

Room Tip: The double rooms have a lovely view of Ravenglass' picturesque cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
78
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Quaint in quiet location but close to the Lakes with the benefit of coast and hills more or less on the doorstep. Many things to do locally and a short drive away.
Rooms excellent and cleanliness is obviously top of priorities with Elaine & Mike who are welcoming and knowledgable hosts.
Breakfast was Devine for someone that likes his food!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishton Blackburn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have just had a wonderful two night stay at this perfect and peaceful B&B in Ravensglass. Mike and Elaine were extremely welcoming and friendly. The rooms are beautiful, clean and of a very high standard with little extras. Breakfast was superb and as someone else has mentioned it kept us going till 5pm. Could not have asked for more. We will definitely be back one day!

Room Tip: The rooms are equally as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rammy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Best B&B I have ever stayed in. Rooms were spotless and very well presented. The property has been beautifully restored and has been furnished to a high standard. Loved the little added touches of water and chocolates in the room as well as tea and coffee facilities and toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and had a peaceful nights sleep in the quiet village. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very tasty and lots of choice. Outstanding service. Would highly recommend to all!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TysCumbria_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Friendly, adaptable, accommodating hosts. Terrific breakfast. Beautifully clean and well presented. Outstanding location with fantastic walks nearby. Lots of books and maps available for guests to consult. Nearby Ravenglass and Eskdale steam railway leads to lovely walking opportunities. Amazing beach with outstanding dunes a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Both double rooms are the same. Single room has private bathroom across the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisecannon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although you would hardly notice it in the village, the Bay Horse turned out to be the best B&B we've ever stayed in.
From the moment we pulled up, the owners were friendly, welcoming and attentive.
The bedrooms have been beautifully restored and furnished.
All the little details that you would expect from a high class hotel were evident, from Thornton's chocolates on the bed to good quality toiletries to a fresh fruit bowl to bottled water at each bedside to a live flowering orchid on the dressing table.
From front door through to bathroom was absolutely spotless as was the kitchen, which the owners were happy for us to take a look at.
The aga-cooked breakfast was one to write home about with excellent quality Cumberland sausage, real butchers bacon and free-range eggs - none of your supermarket pre-packed stuff!
There was also cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt and fresh fruit available if a "full English" was not to your tastes.
We'd not travelled far - we're only from Whitehaven - but this was a pleasure we're keen to repeat.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, two doubles and a single - we saw in all & all were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

you could not find a better B and B in the UK, oustanding in every way, clean, friendly, good breakfasts, and a superb location - everything about the Bay Horse is outstanding. Very friendly hosts and a breakfast to keep you going til at least 5 o'clock. we will be back!

Room Tip: only three to choose from, all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
1.4 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
3.7 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bay Horse Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing