We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay for a good price”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here before and after our wedding with both sides of the family. The rooms are clean, airy and pleasant. The staff were professional, helpful and went out of their way to help us pre and post wedding. The location cannot be beaten. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amxsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
83
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights as it was a good place to explore the West Lake district. Great place to stay as it is in the grounds of Muncaster Castle and its gardens.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We had a 2 night stay @ Muncaster.We found the castle to be of great interest & the grounds to be marvellous.We saw the Owls being flown & watched the wild Heron coming to be fed.We ate @ the Pennington Hotel in Ravenglass the first night & it was delicious & good value.The second night we asked the staff @ Creeping Kate's Cafe to put 2 portions of their lovely Fish Pie in the fridge in the kitchen & we had it in the evening with our own wine.
the room was very clean & comfortable,& the staff were attentive & informative.I'm sure I recognised several members of the Pennington Family working @ the Castle.
Overall it was a great experience,we will go again & this time we will go on the l'ill Ratty train ride from Ravensglass.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Whilst I wouldn't rate the Coachman's Quarters accommodation as four star I would say that it's clean and comfortable in a good location. It's quirky too. Included in the package is free entry to the gardens and the owl house, both of which are well worth a look. I can highly recommend the breakfast, it is served in the converted stables and is a very good quality. All the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming. If you chose to stay here I would recommend having a fabulous meal at the Pennington Hotel in Ravensglass, fantastic food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Just back from a few days staying here. Can't praise it enough. Have read some of the moans in previous reviews, honestly don't know what they're grumbling about. The place is really peaceful, and the grounds are stunning. After the day visitors have gone home you feel like you're on your own private estate. As for the owls, well, they DO live there, and they didn't make that much noise anyway. Yes the room was a little smaller than your average 4* hotel, but you have to remember that these are rooms with history, they haven't been purpose built for tourists. That said, our room was spotlessly clean. The bedlinen luxurious, the towels fluffy and cosy. Attention has been paid to detail to make you a little bit more comfortable. Such as 'nice' toiletries, and tea/coffee supplies. The huge kitchen is a bonus,; although it's nice to eat out, sometimes you just can't be bothered, so some supplies from the local town (Egremont) and you can self cater. There's a big fridge to keep your stuff cold - yes, wine too - labels provided; a dishwasher, a clothes dryer, all the crockery & glasses you could wish for, the lounge - (with wi-fi) is so comfy I just curled up with my book and wine and had a lovely evening when it was raining. Also found the staff really pleasant, everyone - and I mean everyone - was friendly, helpful and just really nice. From the welcome in reception to the lady serving breakfast, (Bronwyn & Ann) can't fault anyone. While we were there it was the Festival of Fools, we didn't go for the festival, not usually our scene, but actually found we really enjoyed it. One thing I'll mention. During one day, a major emergency kicked off. It could have been a scene of confusion & panic, as everyone had to go to the stableyard for safety for a couple of hours. But the estate staff handled it well. The manager (Peter) kept us informed of what was going on & of any progress. The entertainers stepped in & did what they were best at and kept everyone occupied. The whole thing passed calmly and eventually we were 'released' and the day carried on normally. Well done to EVERYONE at Muncaster.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smellywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed in the Coachman's Quarters at Muncaster Castle. The castle is beautiful and the grounds are amazing, we stayed just before Halloween and went on a ghost tour of the castle which was an interesting 45 minutes. The room was compact and spotlessly clean, the shared kitchen facilities are especially useful when you have young children. We were given a voucher for 20% off the price of a ride on the mini steam train Lal Ratty which is within walking distance of the castle. The serve yourself breakfast was very nice too! We will definitely be going back to this quieter part of Cumbria again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

If we had known how splendid this delightful, enchanting ideal was going to be , would have stainyed longer.Planning to return again and again.Utterly charismatic

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
20.2 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
2.6 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Property: Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing