We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defo NOT 4 star, poor service from staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

On arrival we were QUICKLYl shown our room. En route a kitchen & lounge were pointed out to us but not SHOWN. Although we had booked in advance there was no heating on, that had to be put on right away. The member of staff then left saying if you need anything phone the emergency number. The room was small, 'pokey' in fact. The ensuite had a bath but the shower was not attached to the wall, there was no shower screen/curtain. There was a glass shelf above the wash hand basin which was ready to come of the wall. We had to travel 16 mile .round trip to buy supplies for eating as they don't do evening meals. The gardens & surroundings were pleasant. I suppose the saving grace was the breakfast in Creepy Kate's Kitchen which was served by a very pleasant lady. On departing when we handed in the key we were not even asked if we had a pleasant stay, which was probably just as well as I'm sure they would not have been happy to hear our thoughts. This was booked through 'Unique Places To Stay' , which I suggest they take this place off their list. The whole ambience was that of a hostel NOT a 4 star B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magsger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

we had room 1 in the coachman's quarters for a 2 night stay. The room was very spacious and well laid out for disabled people (which thankfully doesn't apply to us). The room was also very warm (nice as we stayed in November).

There is a good sized lounge, and also a lift for disabled folk (which Mother in Law found very useful).

We were extremely lucky with the weather, and the views from the grounds were stunning. The Castle closed the day we arrived, but the Owl sanctuary was very nice.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and breakfast was also very nice. Not quite 5 stars but certainly a very high 4. Would certainly go back and recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 is large and has been decked out for disabled folk
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Castle itself was very impressive, and the room was much more than we expected. I stayed with my wife for one night with a voucher that was given to us as a gift last Christmas. It was Hallowe'en weekend, so they had a few things going on. It's claimed to be one of the most haunted places in the UK, and there's definitely an eerie feel about the place. In a good way mind. There isn't much to do in the area, and we had a 20 minute walk in hailstone to find the nearest pub. It's a nice little place though, and if you're into your history and culture then there is plenty of that about. The views from the castle grounds are quite spectacular too. I have absolutely no complaints about the room either. It was more of a medium size apartment than a room, and was very warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: My wife and I were in room 9, and it was very spacious. I don't know anything about the other ro...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just spend 2 night b and b in the Coachmans quarters at Muncaster Castle, it was fantastic, clean, warm, nothing to much trouble for staff, quiet, and the grounds and Owl Centre was brill. Everything for a break was on offer. The Castle itself is very impressive and the history is so interesting. The gardens and the wild life is a must for the nature lover. I will be going again. We enjoyed a trip to Ravenglass on the little railway, a walk, and found an old mill in Boot, which is still working even though it was built in the 18th century, we also went to Windermere for a trip on a cruise boat. The weather held out and the food in the evening at the Ratty Arms in Ravenglass was good value for money, staff friendly and as it was nearly Halloween decorated out. The Castle was also preparing for Halloween while we were there and I can imagin the atmosphere that would be created with the candle lit tour around the grounds and castle would be haunting. Whoooooooooo

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooks Owl Centre
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June61Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights b&b using a kgb deal. The double room was spacious and had enough room for our small dog. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. The gardens are beautiful and the castle and owl sanctuary were lovely. The kitchen and lounge are ideal if you want to save money and cook at home. Overall we had a great time and we will come again. Thankyou Muncaster

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights on a voucher deal meaning it was seriously cheap - and with free entry to the owl sanctuary plus 20% off the Ravenglass and Eskdale railway, fantastic value. We arrived a little late, having come over the beautiful but hard to drive Hardknott Pass. The reception was closed but an internal phone brought forth a most efficient chap who showed us the feacilities (huge lounge, fully fitted out kitchen) and our bedroom. We asked about a taxi service to take us into the village (I needed a few pints after the drive!!), but he said the cabs came from a long way distant and charged for the trip out and back so we could end up paying a lot for a mile journey. He said that if we were ready in 14 minutes and happy to come home by 10 then he would be happy to drive us there and back. The grounds are lovely with a gathering of herons every afternoon - 22 on the afternoon we saw it. And who doesn't love owls? Room fairly basic but adequate and an astonishingly good breakfast - pretty much what you want and as much as you want of it cooked from freash - awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Muncaster Castle's Coachman's Quarters for the weekend. I'll get the only negatives out of the way first - bed not too comfortable and pillows felt as if they were filled with polyester beads. That said, our friends' bed was fine so think we were just unlucky, and I did find two spare pillows in the wardrobe that were fine. You will love having the run of the grounds of the castle, with its marvellous views of the fells, your kids will love their very own adventure playground and meadow vole maze, and you will all love visiting the owl sanctuary when all the visitors have gone. Breakfasts are delicious, and if you want to prepare your own food, guests have the run of a large kitchen and dining area where they can prepare their own meals, and there's a cosy sitting room with TV and DVD if you want to relax out of your room. That said, there are a number of great eating places nearby; 'The Ratty' in Ravenglass and 'Brown Cow' in Waberthwaite do really good, hearty food, and there are loads of pubs in Eskdale itselfl And the whole place is very child friendly. Do NOT miss the steam railway of course...and the lovely walks along the river from the George IV to Boot (where there is also a lovely watermill to visit).

Room Tip: We were in room 7 which was fine, but bed was not too brilliant if you like a bit of room and not bo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
5.6 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: $102 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing