We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled + Dog Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disabled + Dog Friendly!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I, with my Wife (in her wheelchair), and our Dog stayed here for Two Nights. We were surprised to find our accomodation on the top floor of the Coachman's Quarters but as it had a lift (manually operated for wheelchair access) this didn't cause us a problem.
The lounge, kitchen & reception were all accessible and our room (No.1) was ample. There is a slight incline on entering the room which may account for the door opening 'outwards' as it would be difficult for a sole wheelchair user to enter/exit the room otherwise, though the proximity to the door of No.2 may have been a problem (it wasn't for us luckily).
The TV was on the small side but adequate and had all the Freeview channels and anyway there was a large TV in the communal lounge if needed. The shower room was very well equipped for disability needs including a fold out shower seat and numerous grab rails. Two beds pushed together made a very large King size and there was a fold out single bed if required.
We were given 3 keys, the room key, the front door & a key to operate the lift out of hours.
As others have already indicated the breakfast cannot be faulted and the service was excellent. The electric power was shut down during our breakfast on our second morning which only affected the toaster (We were ok as we'd got ours but later guests had to wait until the power was switched on!) and although they did warn us in advance I felt that maybe they could have delayed this action until after breakfast? (9.30 am). Maybe it wasn't possible.
It's a pity that an evening meal is not an option as I've no doubt the food would be top notch, however the full use of the kitchen in the Coachman's Quarters was handy if you prefer self catering as it had everything! even a dishwasher!
My only criticism would be that the breakfast is served in the cafe in the stable yard which is about 50 yards away - not ideal in the rain and with a wheelchair, as it's uphill on the way back.
Also, while dogs are welcome some of the staff had their dogs wandering the grounds off the leash, barking at all and sundry. I found this a little unsettling when 3 of them barked at my wife and I as we came out of the lift in Reception and if anyone had a phobia of dogs this could have caused some distress. We have our own dog who would have taken exception to this had we not already secured him in the car. Not a big deal but could have been a bit embarassing.
All in all, a lovely stay in beautiful surroundings and well worth it, especially those breakfasts!

Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible room No.1 Shower room (en suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend on a cheap KGB deal, but wouldn't hesitate to return at full price. The staff were very helpful - we couldn't get there until nearly 11 pm on the Friday night (when reception closes at 6 pm), but there was still someone friendly there to greet us and show us round/to our room - all other staff were also lovely. The room itself was not huge, but easily large enough and very pleasant (posh biscuits with the tea/coffee is always a winner for me!) and the en suite shower was good.

As others have said, the cooked breakfast was excellent, and one of the best I've ever had - you ticked the exact items you wanted from a long list and it was then freshly cooked for you! Toast, fruit, cereal and yoghurts were also available. I saw another review criticising the lack of vegetarian options and would disagree with this - I'd say there was a bigger choice than usual with a cooked breakfast - even a lovely veggie sausage. Regarding other meals, the cafe where breakfast is served is also open during the day (as is another smaller cafe serving cakes/coffee, etc) and there is a huge, fully equipped kitchen in the quarters for all guests to use - fridge, freezer, microwave, oven, toaster, etc! We brought our own food to eat here, and enjoyed it along with some wine and a DVD in the large but cosy communal living room, but for evening meals out, the village of Ravensglass is a short walk (just over a mile) and has a couple of pubs.

There is a lot to do without even leaving the Muncaster grounds - gorgeous gardens, amazing owl centre (loved this) and the castle itself - which is part of what makes this particular accommodation so unique. I've never stayed anywhere like it. However, of course you're in a great area for numerous walks - it's only a few miles from Scafell if you're looking for some serious hiking, or alternatively it's good for gentler, shorter walks (we walked along Muncaster Fell, etc to the start of the single-gauge railway near Boot - approximately 7 miles - then got the train back to Ravensglass, which was really pleasant). There are also coastal walks around Ravensglass, though tidal times need to be checked first!

All in all, I'd recommend this B&B to anyone, and am looking forward to going back myself. As others have said, it's not the same as a luxurious 4-star hotel, but in my view is a different kind of experience entirely, certainly not worse!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

our room was large & clean!
best breakfast we have had all freshly cooked when ordered,
no warmed up dry food!
great location!
so much to do, staff are helpful.
gardens are amazing.
the castle was a joy.
we even went in the maze even though it is for children!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolhuyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived at 17:55 and as check in closes at 18:00 we were basically given our key, shown to our room and left lol. When they say they shut at six they certainly mean it, was not a very nice welcome to be fair. The TV in our room didn't work but we had nobody to tell! The heating in the bathroom is stuck on full as the thermostat is broken and it all bangs at night. The "double" bed is two singles that are different heights zipped together, there's cobwebs with daddy long legs stuck in them all over the show. The bedside lamp that did work in our room was all exposed and the other one just didn't work. There was all mildew in the shower and a big crack in the shower tray, and there was a bathroom shelf missing with half the attachments still there.

Even with all the negatives though it really was a good place to stay what with the castle, owl centre, extensive gardens, playground, huge kitchen and the huge livingroom :)

Also please be aware that in the owl centre they actually feed the owls small fluffy yellow chicks that are dead in little piles in the cages, I found them awful to look at :(
We stayed in room 7.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We got this hotel on a KGB deal for £69 for 2 people 2 nights and it was well worth what we paid, the coachman quarters is set around a court yard and the rooms are off one corridor. The room was quaint yes it wasn't a hotel 4 star but it had enough charm to compensate. We were in room 7 a family room with a 3 bed and room for a travel cot(outdie the windows were the owls).
The breakfast was cooked to order and had a good choice of cereals and toast. The coachmans quarted has a fully functioning kitchen area with free use of washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I wouldn't hesitate in returning to such a lovely castle and fabulous location.
We went to the Ravenglass to Eskdale steam railway which was well worth the day out and the South Lakes wildlife park- overall a lovely break and will return in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms will have a lovely outlook over looking the owls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylou1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights based here. Location is excellent for exploring this part of the country.
Although not the 4 star rating we are used to the unusual attractions of the owl sanctuary and the feeding of the Herons does compensate. At about 4.00 local wild Herons start to fly in and perch in the trees awaiting the daily free feeding that starts at 4.30 on the field just in front of the main castle doorway.
Accomodation includes access to the grounds (and the castle for a small additional charge- £2 each). There are stunnng views from the castle.
Staff are friendly and helpful, but only on site until about 6.00pm.
Hearty breakfasts recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyotaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have just had 2 nights B&B in the Coachman's Quarters and it was an absolutely brilliant trip. So different and much more interesting than staying in a bog-standard hotel. A hotel may be more luxurious but the Coachman's Quarters were charming, comfortable, fresh and I felt really at home. There's a massive kitchen you can use and store all your drinks and things in and a huge lounge - we were out and about all the time so didn't need it but would be good if you had kids. The castle is stunning, the grounds are beautiful with thousands of gorgeous plants - if you're into wildlife and nature, this is the place for you. They are massive on conservation and looking after wildlife. It was brilliant to see all the different owls too. The breakfast in Creeping Kate's Kitchen was lovely - I'll be back for sure and can't wait to!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antheamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
143 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Sella Park Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calder Bridge
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
1.2 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Property: Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing