We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely remote spot ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely remote spot ”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

- Lovely hosts, friendly and informative.
- Great traditional English pub, real ales and home cooked food
- amazingly comfortable bed
- room was above entrance door, so not ideal if you want early night bit if your up for enjoying a beer or two in the bar then ideal!
- awesome location, about 10 mins from scafell Pike base and other great walks.
- lush brekkie and good value for money.
- very remote location perfect if you want a taste if real Lake District.
- will be back !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HJ2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    42
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
68
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Strands in June 2010 for our friends wedding. A fabulous weekend (one we still talk about now) with every need catered for.

Visited again the end of January 2014 with the same couple and two of our nearest and dearest. The weather was certainly different but the care and efficiency of Leslie, Mark and all their staff was top notch. They can never do enough for you and always put the customer first. One of our party got stuck on the hills in snow when his sat nav sent him the wrong way and while we were all worried for him, Leslie and Mark kept calm and informed us whenever there was a phone call or change in weather.

The rooms are spacious and warm with plenty of storage and nicely decorated. Each room has an iron and ironing board but no hairdryer, just ask the staff and they will gladly get you one. The tea and coffee facilities are always topped up and again the staff will gladly give you more milk etc if needed.

The pub itself is homely and welcoming, Mark brews his own beer and a pint of the famous Errmmm bitter is just what is needed and to sit around the warm open log fire after a long drive. The food is excellent and although not a massive choice but who needs one when there is enough for everyone. Portions are plenty and the steak and ale pie is a must try. I didn't try any desserts as I was always too full but if the mains are anything to go by then I'm sure they are just as good. Breakfast is very good with a vast choice of cereals and fruit and either a small full or large full cooked breakfast, depending on your appetite and always plenty of toast and tea/coffee. You can be rest assured that if your going on a long hike, then a good hearty breakfast will set you up, though a packed lunch is provided (cost extra) if you so desire. Dogs are welcome and there is a beautiful area at the back to sit in nice weather. Plenty of packing space and a nice pub over the road (the screes)

The area in which the Strands is situated (though it be in middle of nowhere) is beautiful and serene. Walks are plentiful and I'm sure Leslie would give you map of the area if you needed one. Having been before we know the way. Take a right turn when you leave the front door and after about 30 to 40 minutes of walking you will reach Wastwater (just keeps the hills in front sight), The most beautiful views I have seen anywhere in the lakes. Places to park if you wish to take the car and cover more ground. At the top of the lake is the Wasdale Head pub. A short drive from the Strands (Santon Bridge) is the Woodlands gift shop and tea room, nice gifts and lovely cakes etc. 15 Minutes drive away is the beautiful Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway, a lovely day out and a trip on the steam railway is great for kids old and young. A beautiful weekend was had by all and Lesley, Mark and staff making it a pleasure to go back time and time again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, 12a and 14 have a view at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnos_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have been going to The Strands for quite a number of years now and the quality of the place keeps on drawing my walking group and me back there. The owners, Mark and Lesley, and the staff are so friendly, welcoming and helpful. A wide range of excellent ales are brewed on site and the food is always well prepared, tasty and reasonably priced. The menu is varied each day and the produce is locally sourced. The bar is a great place to sit by the fire having a drink while discussing the day on the fells. The beer garden is also a fine place to relax in warmer seasons. The walks to the big fells around the head of Wasdale are a 20-25 min drive from the Strands along the shores of Wastwater but that is not a problem. There are 14 en-suite bedrooms that are warm and comfy; well the ones I have stopped in have been and over the years I have stayed in 6 of the rooms. The fact that we continue to go back to the Strands time and time again is recommendation enough but it is good.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 7 and 12, 12a & 12b are on the front of the building with views across the road; 8 - 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Like many other visitors we found The Strands Hotel very welcoming.We arrived in the late afternoon after a long journey and were delighted with the cosy bar and roaring log fire.. The room was comfortable and warm with a view of their rival hotel opposite! We were pleased to see that dogs were also welcome In the bar and very well behaved they were too!
The food was delicious and plentiful and the beer good. The breakfasts were more than plentiful but some guests managed to please the landlady by eating a FULL English.consisting of double everything!
Of course the setting is beautiful and it is an ideal base for walkers, climbers and just sightseers
like ourselves- OAPs!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SararoseHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A group of 9 of us (gentlemen) stayed at the Strands this weekend and had really fantastic time. The food, drink and service was first class and all extremely reasonably priced. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Saturday night. Warm & cozy pub with friendly, efficient staff. The pub was busy with a lovely atmosphere. We both had steak & ale pie, chips and veg. Hearty plateful, the only criticism is that there was too much pastry. Had Oliver with us...dog friendly too!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Strands is a very rustic pub/hotel in Nether wasdale, the food is of a very good standard and in keeping with the pubs asthetics. I my self, do not normally stay in establishments like this my company opting for city style Hotels. But i have to say it was a lovely change of pace, i dont even drink bitter but couldnt halp being persuaded into having one after being told of the micro brewery in the back and it was delicious.

You wont get Sky TV or phone reception in your room and as a young man this slighty bugged me on my first stay, believe me when i say this is not at all what this establishment is about. there is normally local bands on downstairs, the pool team, the dart team and they are all top people and very friendly.

But what summed it all up for me was when i'd finsdhed my working day went back to the Strands inn had a drink and told the staff id be back down at 7pm for tea, went up to my room and I fell asleep. Only re-emrging down at the bar about 10pm looking rather sorry for myslef. the staff knew i had over slept and missed food serving hours, Yet still made me a sandwich with chips, pint in hand. I was a happy lad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
3.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
144 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
146 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery

Property: The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Address: Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strands Inn & Micro Brewery Mark and Lesley Corr welcome everybody to our Friendly Public Houses with Accommodation which we have been running the Strands Inn successfully since June 2006 with comfortable rooms serving full English breakfast. We are in the process of purchasing the Screes Inn since April 2017 hopefully contracts completed by May (watch this space) The Srcees Inn (From May 2017) Accommodation consists of 6 doubles 1 twin 2 family rooms The Strands Accommodation consists of 2 singles 8 doubles 4 twins and can be accommodating to turn a couple of their rooms into family rooms. We have public bars where we serve our own cask ales which we brew in our Micro Brewery, and we have large selection of Whiskeys and the amount of Gins are growing with the popularity which has been growing over the last couple of years We celebrate every year our Cask Ales with our Beer Festival which is just our Cask Ales on the following Weekend after the first May Bank Holiday. Which we started in 2007. We Serve food in several areas of the Strands Inn from 12 noon everyday until 9pm and on Sundays until 8pm Because our Free Fun Quiz Starts at 8:30pm on the Sunday. Dogs are welcome in our bars areas but, Sorry, we do not have any dogs stay in our bedrooms. The Screes Inn which is opposite our Strands Inn. the Bar will be open and we will be serving a different choice of food. Hope to see you soon Thank you Lesley and Mark Corr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing